These notes refer to the Local Government (Boundaries) Act (Northern Ireland) 2008 (c.7) which received Royal Assent on 23 May 2008

Local Government (Boundaries) Act (Northern Ireland) 2008

EXPLANATORY NOTES

COMMENTARY ON SECTIONS

Section 1 – Local government districts and wards

Section 1 makes provision for the establishment of 11 new local government districts in Northern Ireland by reference to the current 26 local government districts and for the districts to be divided into wards. These new districts will be the starting point for the review of local government boundaries.