Agreement on the withdrawal of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland from the European Union and the European Atomic Energy Community

#### **PART SIX**

#### INSTITUTIONAL AND FINAL PROVISIONS

#### TITLE IV

#### FINAL PROVISIONS

### Article 182

#### **Protocols and Annexes**

The Protocol on Ireland / Northern Ireland, the Protocol relating to the Sovereign Base Areas in Cyprus, the Protocol on Gibraltar, and Annexes I to IX shall form an integral part of this Agreement.

### Article 183

#### **Authentic texts and depositary**

This Agreement is drawn up in a single original in the Bulgarian, Croatian, Czech, Danish, Dutch, English, Estonian, Finnish, French, German, Greek, Hungarian, Irish, Italian, Latvian, Lithuanian, Maltese, Polish, Portuguese, Romanian, Slovak, Slovenian, Spanish and Swedish languages, the texts in each of these languages being equally authentic.

The Secretary General of the Council shall be the depositary of this Agreement.

### Article 184

## **Negotiations on the future relationship**

The Union and the United Kingdom shall use their best endeavours, in good faith and in full respect of their respective legal orders, to take the necessary steps to negotiate expeditiously the agreements governing their future relationship referred to in the Political Declaration of 17 October 2019 and to conduct the relevant procedures for the ratification or conclusion of those agreements, with a view to ensuring that those agreements apply, to the extent possible, as from the end of the transition period.

#### Article 185

# Entry into force and application

This Agreement shall enter into force on one of the following dates, whichever is the earliest:

Status: This is the revised version from EUR-Lex dated 13/06/2020.

- (a) the day following the end of the period provided for in Article 50(3) TEU, as extended by the European Council in agreement with the United Kingdom, provided that, prior to that date, the depositary of this Agreement has received the written notifications by the Union and the United Kingdom regarding the completion of the necessary internal procedures;
- (b) the first day of the month following the receipt by the depositary of this Agreement of the last of the written notifications referred to in point (a).

In the event that, prior to the end of the period provided for in Article 50(3) TEU, as extended by the European Council in agreement with the United Kingdom, the depositary of this Agreement has not received the written notifications referred to in point (a), this Agreement shall not enter into force.

When making the written notification referred to in the first paragraph, the Union, in respect of any Member State which has raised reasons related to fundamental principles of national law of that Member State, may declare that, during the transition period, in addition to the grounds for non#execution of a European arrest warrant referred to in Framework Decision 2002/584/JHA, the executing judicial authorities of that Member State may refuse to surrender its nationals to the United Kingdom pursuant to a European arrest warrant. In such a case, the United Kingdom may declare, no later than 1 month after the receipt of the Union's declaration, that its executing judicial authorities may refuse to surrender its nationals to that Member State.

Parts Two and Three, with the exception of Article 19, Article 34(1), Article 44, and Article 96(1), as well as Title I of Part Six and Articles 169 to 181, shall apply as from the end of the transition period.

The Protocol on Ireland/Northern Ireland shall apply as from the end of the transition period, with the exception of the following provisions of that Protocol, which shall apply as from the entry into force of this Agreement:

Article 1;
the third, fourth and sixth subparagraphs of Article 5 (2);
the second sentence of Article 5(3);
the last sentence of Article 10(2);
Article 12(3);
Article 13(8);
Article 14;
Article 15(1) to (4) and (6);
Article 19;
the first paragraph of Annex 6.

The Protocol relating to the Sovereign Base Areas of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland in Cyprus, with the exception of Article 11 thereof, shall apply as from the end of the transition period.

The Protocol on Gibraltar, with the exception of Article 1 thereof, shall cease to apply at the end of the transition period.