Consolidated version of the Treaty on European Union

TITLE III

PROVISIONS ON THE INSTITUTIONS

Article 13

The Union shall have an institutional framework which shall aim to promote its values, advance its objectives, serve its interests, those of its citizens and those of the Member States, and ensure the consistency, effectiveness and continuity of its policies and actions.

The Union's institutions shall be:

- the European Parliament,
 the European Council,
 the Council,
 the European Commission (hereinafter referred to as 'the Commission'),
 the Court of Justice of the European Union,
 the European Central Bank,
 the Court of Auditors.
- 2 Each institution shall act within the limits of the powers conferred on it in the Treaties, and in conformity with the procedures, conditions and objectives set out in them. The institutions shall practice mutual sincere cooperation.
- 3 The provisions relating to the European Central Bank and the Court of Auditors and detailed provisions on the other institutions are set out in the Treaty on the Functioning of the European Union.
- 4 The European Parliament, the Council and the Commission shall be assisted by an Economic and Social Committee and a Committee of the Regions acting in an advisory capacity.