Consolidated version of the Treaty on the Functioning of the European Union

PART SEVEN

GENERAL AND FINAL PROVISIONS

Article 355

(ex Article 299(2), first subparagraph, and Article 299(3) to (6) TEC)

In addition to the provisions of Article 52 of the Treaty on European Union relating to the territorial scope of the Treaties, the following provisions shall apply:

- The provisions of the Treaties shall apply to Guadeloupe, French Guiana, Martinique, [^{F1}Mayotte,] Réunion, [^{F2}Saint-Barthélemy,] Saint-Martin, the Azores, Madeira and the Canary Islands in accordance with Article 349.
- 2. The special arrangements for association set out in Part Four shall apply to the overseas countries and territories listed in Annex II.

The Treaties shall not apply to those overseas countries and territories having special relations with the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland which are not included in the aforementioned list.

- 3. The provisions of the Treaties shall apply to the European territories for whose external relations a Member State is responsible.
- 4. The provisions of the Treaties shall apply to the Åland Islands in accordance with the provisions set out in Protocol 2 to the Act concerning the conditions of accession of the Republic of Austria, the Republic of Finland and the Kingdom of Sweden.
- 5. Notwithstanding Article 52 of the Treaty on European Union and paragraphs 1 to 4 of this Article:
 - (a) the Treaties shall not apply to the Faeroe Islands;
 - (b) the Treaties shall not apply to the United Kingdom Sovereign Base Areas of Akrotiri and Dhekelia in Cyprus except to the extent necessary to ensure the implementation of the arrangements set out in the Protocol on the Sovereign Base Areas of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland in Cyprus annexed to the Act concerning the conditions of accession of the Czech Republic, the Republic of Estonia, the Republic of Cyprus, the Republic of Latvia, the Republic of Lithuania, the Republic of Hungary, the Republic of Malta, the Republic of Poland, the Republic of Slovenia and the Slovak Republic to the European Union and in accordance with the terms of that Protocol;
 - (c) the Treaties shall apply to the Channel Islands and the Isle of Man only to the extent necessary to ensure the implementation of the arrangements for those islands set out in the Treaty concerning the accession of new Member States to the European Economic Community and to the European Atomic Energy Community signed on 22 January 1972.

Status: This is the revised version from EUR-Lex dated 01/03/2020. There are no timeline of changes available for treaties, instead, previous dated versions from EUR-Lex (as pdf from 1992 onwards) can be accessed via the More Resources menu. This treaty has changed its name over time, originally signed in Rome in 1957 as the Treaty establishing the European Economic Community (The Treaty of Rome) then becoming Treaty establishing the European Community. Its title is now Treaty on the functioning of the European Union.

6. The European Council may, on the initiative of the Member State concerned, adopt a decision amending the status, with regard to the Union, of a Danish, French or Netherlands country or territory referred to in paragraphs 1 and 2. The European Council shall act unanimously after consulting the Commission.

Textual Amendments

- **F1** Inserted by European Council Decision of 11 July 2012 amending the status of Mayotte with regard to the European Union (2012/419/EU).
- **F2** Deleted by European Council Decision of 29 October 2010 amending the status with regard to the European Union of the island of Saint-Barthélemy (2010/718/EU).