Status: This is the revised version from EUR-Lex dated 01/03/2020. There are no timeline of changes available for treaties, instead, previous dated versions from EUR-Lex (as pdf from 1992 onwards) can be accessed via the More Resources menu. This treaty has changed its name over time, originally signed in Rome in 1957 as the Treaty establishing the European Economic Community (The Treaty of Rome) then becoming Treaty establishing the European Community. Its title is now Treaty on the functioning of the European Union.

Consolidated version of the Treaty on the Functioning of the European Union

## PART SIX

## INSTITUTIONAL AND FINANCIAL PROVISIONS

### TITLE I

## INSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS

CHAPTER 1

## THE INSTITUTIONS

**SECTION 7** 

# THE COURT OF AUDITORS

Article 285

(ex Article 246 TEC)

The Court of Auditors shall carry out the Union's audit.

It shall consist of one national of each Member State. Its Members shall be completely independent in the performance of their duties, in the Union's general interest.