Status: This is the revised version from EUR-Lex dated 01/05/2019. There are no timeline of changes available for treaties, instead, previous dated versions from EUR-Lex (as pdf) can be accessed via the More Resources menu.

## **PROTOCOLS**

## PROTOCOL ON THE LOCATION OF THE SEATS OF THE INSTITUTIONS AND OF CERTAIN BODIES, OFFICES, AGENCIES AND DEPARTMENTS OF THE EUROPEAN UNION

THE REPRESENTATIVES OF THE GOVERNMENTS OF THE MEMBER STATES.

HAVING REGARD to Article 341 of the Treaty on the Functioning of the European Union and Article 189 of the Treaty establishing the European Atomic Energy Community,

RECALLING AND CONFIRMING the Decision of 8 April 1965, and without prejudice to the decisions concerning the seat of future institutions, bodies, offices, agencies and departments,

HAVE AGREED UPON the following provisions, which shall be annexed to the Treaty on European Union and to the Treaty on the Functioning of the European Union, and to the Treaty establishing the European Atomic Energy Community:

## Sole Article

- (a) The European Parliament shall have its seat in Strasbourg where the 12 periods of monthly plenary sessions, including the budget session, shall be held. The periods of additional plenary sessions shall be held in Brussels. The committees of the European Parliament shall meet in Brussels. The General Secretariat of the European Parliament and its departments shall remain in Luxembourg.
- (b) The Council shall have its seat in Brussels. During the months of April, June and October, the Council shall hold its meetings in Luxembourg.
- (c) The Commission shall have its seat in Brussels. The departments listed in Articles 7, 8 and 9 of the Decision of 8 April 1965 shall be established in Luxembourg.
- (d) The Court of Justice of the European Union shall have its seat in Luxembourg.
- (e) The Court of Auditors shall have its seat in Luxembourg.
- (f) The Economic and Social Committee shall have its seat in Brussels.
- (g) The Committee of the Regions shall have its seat in Brussels.
- (h) The European Investment Bank shall have its seat in Luxembourg.
- (i) The European Central Bank shall have its seat in Frankfurt.
- (j) The European Police Office (Europol) shall have its seat in The Hague.