Agreement on the European Economic Area

PART IX

GENERAL AND FINAL PROVISIONS

Article 126

- The Agreement shall apply to the territories to which the Treaty establishing the European Economic Community [F1 and the Treaty establishing the European Coal and Steel Community] is applied and under the conditions laid down in [F2 that Treaty], and to the territories of [F2 F3 the] [F3 Republic of] Iceland, the Principality of Liechtenstein and the Kingdom of Norway].
- Notwithstanding paragraph 1, this Agreement shall not apply to the Åland Islands. The Government of Finland may, however, give notice, by a declaration deposited when ratifying this Agreement with the Depositary, which shall transmit a certified copy thereof to the Contracting Parties, that the Agreement shall apply to those Islands under the same conditions as it applies to other parts of Finland subject to the following provisions:
 - a The provisions of this Agreement shall not preclude the application of the provisions in force at any given time on the Åland Islands on:
 - (i) restrictions on the right for natural persons who do not enjoy regional citizenship in Åland, and for legal persons, to acquire and hold real property on the Åland Islands without permission by the competent authorities of the Islands;
 - (ii) restrictions on the right of establishment and the right to provide services by natural persons who do not enjoy regional citizenship in Åland, or by any legal person, without permission by the competent authorities of the Åland Islands.
 - b The rights enjoyed by Ålanders in Finland shall not be affected by this Agreement.
 - c The authorities of the Åland Islands shall apply the same treatment to all natural and legal persons of the Contracting Parties.

Textual Amendments

- F1 Deleted by Agreement on the participation of the Czech Republic, the Republic of Estonia, the Republic of Cyprus, the Republic of Latvia, the Republic of Lithuania, the Republic of Hungary, the Republic of Malta, the Republic of Poland, the Republic of Slovenia and the Slovak Republic in the European Economic Area.
- F2 Substituted by Agreement on the participation of the Czech Republic, the Republic of Estonia, the Republic of Cyprus, the Republic of Latvia, the Republic of Lithuania, the Republic of Hungary, the Republic of Malta, the Republic of Poland, the Republic of Slovenia and the Slovak Republic in the European Economic Area.
- **F3** Deleted by Agreement on the participation of the Republic of Bulgaria and Romania in the European Economic Area.