This document is meant purely as a documentation tool and the institutions do not assume any liability for its contents

►<u>B</u>

REGULATION No 1

determining the languages to be used by the European Economic Community

(OJ 17, 6.10.1958, p. 385)

Amended by:

		Official Journal		
		No	page	date
► <u>M1</u>	Council Regulation (EC) No 920/2005 of 13 June 2005	L 156	3	18.6.2005
► <u>M2</u>	Council Regulation (EC) No 1791/2006 of 20 November 2006	L 363	1	20.12.2006
► <u>M3</u>	Council Regulation (EU) No 517/2013 of 13 May 2013	L 158	1	10.6.2013

Amended by:

► <u>A1</u>	Act of Accession of Denmark, Ireland and the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland	L 73	14	27.3.1972
	(adapted by Council Decision of 1 January 1973)	L 2	1	1.1.1973
► <u>A2</u>	Act of Accession of Greece	L 291	17	19.11.1979
► <u>A3</u>	Act of Accession of Spain and Portugal	L 302	23	15.11.1985
► <u>A4</u>	Act of Accession of Austria, Sweden and Finland	C 241	21	29.8.1994
	(adapted by Council Decision 95/1/EC, Euratom, ECSC)	L 1	1	1.1.1995
► <u>A5</u>	Act concerning the conditions of accession of the Czech Republic, the Republic of Estonia, the Republic of Cyprus, the Republic of Latvia,	L 236	33	23.9.2003

Republic of Estonia, the Republic of Cyprus, the Republic of Latvia, the Republic of Lithuania, the Republic of Hungary, the Republic of Malta, the Republic of Poland, the Republic of Slovenia and the Slovak Republic and the adjustments to the Treaties on which the European Union is founded

REGULATION No 1

determining the languages to be used by the European Economic Community

THE COUNCIL OF THE EUROPEAN ECONOMIC COMMUNITY,

Having regard to Article 217 of the Treaty which provides that the rules governing the languages of the institutions of the Community shall, without prejudice to the provisions contained in the rules of procedure of the Court of Justice, be determined by the Council, acting unanimously;

Whereas each of the four languages in which the Treaty is drafted is recognised as an official language in one or more of the Member States of the Community;

HAS ADOPTED THIS REGULATION:

▼<u>M3</u>

Article 1

The official languages and the working languages of the institutions of the Union shall be Bulgarian, Croatian, Czech, Danish, Dutch, English, Estonian, Finnish, French, German, Greek, Hungarian, Irish, Italian, Latvian, Lithuanian, Maltese, Polish, Portuguese, Romanian, Slovak, Slovenian, Spanish and Swedish.

▼<u>B</u>

Article 2

Documents which a Member State or a person subject to the jurisdiction of a Member State sends to institutions of the Community may be drafted in any one of the official languages selected by the sender. The reply shall be drafted in the same language.

Article 3

Documents which an institution of the Community sends to a Member State or to a person subject to the jurisdiction of a Member State shall be drafted in the language of such State.

▼<u>M2</u>

Article 4

Regulations and other documents of general application shall be drafted in the official languages.

Article 5

The *Official Journal of the European Union* shall be published in the official languages.

▼<u>B</u>

Article 6

The institutions of the Community may stipulate in their rules of procedure which of the languages are to be used in specific cases.

▼<u>B</u>

Article 7

The languages to be used in the proceedings of the Court of Justice shall be laid down in its rules of procedure.

Article 8

If a Member State has more than one official language, the language to be used shall, at the request of such State, be governed by the general rules of its law.

This Regulation shall be binding in its entirety and directly applicable in all Member States.

▼<u>B</u>