II

(Non-legislative acts)

DECISIONS

COUNCIL DECISION (EU) 2019/1393

taken by common accord with the President-elect of the Commission, of 10 September 2019

adopting the list of the other persons whom the Council proposes for appointment as Members of the Commission

THE COUNCIL OF THE EUROPEAN UNION,

Having regard to the Treaty on European Union, and in particular Article 17(3) and (5) and the second subparagraph of Article 17(7) thereof,

Having regard to European Council Decision 2013/272/EU of 22 May 2013 concerning the number of members of the European Commission (1),

Whereas:

- (1) The mandate of the Commission appointed by European Council Decision 2014/749/EU (²) comes to an end on 31 October 2019.
- (2) A new Commission, consisting of one national of each Member State, including its President and the High Representative of the Union for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy, should be appointed until 31 October 2024.
- (3) The European Council nominated Ms Ursula VON DER LEYEN as the person put forward to the European Parliament as President of the Commission, and the European Parliament elected her as President of the Commission at its Plenary Session of 16 July 2019.
- (4) The Council should adopt by common accord with the President-elect of the Commission the list of the other persons whom it proposes for appointment as Members of the Commission until 31 October 2024.
- (5) On 5 August 2019, the European Council, in agreement with the President-elect of the Commission, appointed Mr Josep BORRELL FONTELLES as High Representative of the Union for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy in accordance with Article 18(1) TEU.
- (6) On 23 August 2019, the Council received a letter from the UK Permanent Representative to the European Union stating that:
 - 'As the United Kingdom will be leaving the European Union on 31 October 2019, the Prime Minister announced in the House of Commons on 25 July that we would not nominate a UK Commissioner for the new Commission, and that this was not intended to stop the EU appointing a new Commission.
 - I am writing formally to confirm that, in accordance with the Prime Minister's statement, the United Kingdom will not be nominating a candidate for the 2019-2024 College of Commissioners'.
- (7) In accordance with the second subparagraph of Article 17(7) TEU, the President-elect of the Commission has notified her accord.

⁽¹⁾ OJ L 165, 18.6.2013, p. 98.

⁽²⁾ European Council Decision 2014/749/EU of 23 October 2014 appointing the European Commission (OJ L 311, 31.10.2014, p. 36).

(8) In accordance with the third subparagraph of Article 17(7) TEU, the President, the High Representative of the Union for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy and the other Members of the Commission are subject as a body to a vote of consent by the European Parliament,

HAS ADOPTED THIS DECISION:

Article 1

By common accord with Ms Ursula VON DER LEYEN, President-elect of the Commission, the Council hereby proposes the following persons for appointment as Members of the Commission until 31 October 2024:

Ms Helena DALLI

Mr Valdis DOMBROVSKIS

Ms Elisa FERREIRA

Ms Mariya GABRIEL

Mr Paolo GENTILONI

Ms Sylvie GOULARD

Mr Johannes HAHN

Mr Phil HOGAN

Ms Ylva JOHANSSON

Ms Věra JOUROVÁ

Ms Stella KYRIAKIDES

Mr Janez LENARČIČ

Ms Rovana PLUMB

Mr Didier REYNDERS

Mr Margaritis SCHINAS

Mr Nicolas SCHMIT

Mr Maroš ŠEFČOVIČ

Ms Kadri SIMSON

Mr Virginijus SINKEVIČIUS

Ms Dubravka ŠUICA

Mr Frans TIMMERMANS

Mr László TRÓCSÁNYI

Ms Jutta URPILAINEN

Ms Margrethe VESTAGER

Mr Janusz WOJCIECHOWSKI,

in addition to:

Mr Josep BORRELL FONTELLES, appointed High Representative of the Union for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy.

Article 2

This Decision shall be forwarded to the European Parliament.

Article 3

This Decision shall be published in the Official Journal of the European Union.

Done at Brussels, 10 September 2019.

For the Council
The President
T. TUPPURAINEN