DECISIONS

COMMISSION IMPLEMENTING DECISION

of 4 October 2011

amending Decision 2008/185/EC as regards the inclusion of Belgium in the list of Member States free of Aujeszky's disease

(notified under document C(2011) 6997)

(Text with EEA relevance)

(2011/648/EU)

THE EUROPEAN COMMISSION,

Having regard to the Treaty on the Functioning of the European Union.

Having regard to Council Directive 64/432/EEC of 26 June 1964 on animal health problems affecting intra-Community trade in bovine animals and swine (1), and in particular Articles 9(2) and 10(2) thereof,

Whereas:

- (1) Directive 64/432/EEC lays down rules applicable to trade in the Union in bovine animals and swine. Article 9 of that Directive lays down criteria for the approval of compulsory national control programmes for certain contagious diseases, including Aujeszky's disease. In addition, Article 10 of that Directive provides that where a Member State considers its territory or part thereof to be free of such diseases, including Aujeszky's disease, it is to present appropriate supporting documentation to the Commission.
- (2) Commission Decision 2008/185/EC of 21 February 2008 on additional guarantees in intra-Community trade of pigs relating to Aujeszky's disease and criteria to provide information on this disease (2) lays down the additional guarantees for movements of pigs between Member States. Those guarantees are linked to the classification of Member States according to their Aujeszky's disease status.
- (3) Annex I to Decision 2008/185/EC lists Member States or regions thereof which are free of Aujeszky's disease and

where vaccination is prohibited. Annex II to that Decision lists Member States or regions thereof where approved national control programmes for the eradication of Aujeszky's disease are in place.

- (4) Belgium is currently listed in Annex II to Decision 2008/185/EC, as a Member State where approved national control programmes for the eradication of Aujeszky's disease have been implemented.
- (5) Belgium has now submitted documentation in support of its application to declare that Member State free from Aujeszky's disease.
- (6) Following the evaluation of the supporting documentation submitted by that Member State, it is appropriate that Belgium be no longer listed in Annex II to Decision 2008/185/EC, but instead be listed in Annex I thereto.
- (7) Decision 2008/185/EC should therefore be amended accordingly.
- (8) The measures provided for in this Decision are in accordance with the opinion of the Standing Committee on the Food Chain and Animal Health,

HAS ADOPTED THIS DECISION:

Article 1

Annexes I and II to Decision 2008/185/EC are replaced by the text in the Annex to this Decision.

⁽¹⁾ OJ 121, 29.7.1964, p. 1977/64.

⁽²⁾ OJ L 59, 4.3.2008, p. 19.

Article 2

This Decision is addressed to the Member States.

Done at Brussels, 4 October 2011.

For the Commission

John DALLI

Member of the Commission

ANNEX

Member States or regions thereof free of Aujeszky's disease and where vaccination is prohibited

'ANNEX I

ISO code	Member State	Regions
BE	Belgium	All regions
CZ	Czech Republic	All regions
DK	Denmark	All regions
DE	Germany	All regions
FR	France	The departments of Ain, Aisne, Allier, Alpes-de-Haute-Provence, Alpes-Maritimes, Ardèche, Ardennes, Ariège, Aube, Aude, Aveyron, Bas-Rhin, Bouches-du-Rhône, Calvados, Cantal, Charente, Charente-Maritime, Cher, Corrèze, Côte-d'Or, Côtes-d'Armor, Creuse, Deux-Sèvres, Dordogne, Doubs, Drôme, Essonne, Eure, Eure-et-Loir, Finistère, Gard, Gers, Gironde, Hautes-Alpes, Hauts-de-Seine, Haute Garonne, Haute-Loire, Haute-Marne, Hautes-Pyrénées, Haut-Rhin, Haute-Saône, Haute-Savoie, Haute-Vienne, Hérault, Indre, Ille-et-Vilaine, Indre-et-Loire, Isère, Jura, Landes, Loire, Loire-Atlantique, Loir-et-Cher, Loiret, Lot, Lot-et-Garonne, Lozère, Maine-et-Loire, Manche, Marne, Mayenne, Meurthe-et-Moselle, Meuse, Morbihan, Moselle, Nièvre, Nord, Oise, Orne, Paris, Pas-de-Calais, Pyrénées-Atlantiques, Pyrénées-Orientales, Puy-de-Dôme, Réunion, Rhône, Sarthe, Saône-et-Loire, Savoie, Seine-et-Marne, Seine-Maritime, Seine-Saint-Denis, Somme, Tarn, Tarn-et-Garonne, Territoire de Belfort, Val-de-Marne, Val-d'Oise, Var, Vaucluse, Vendée, Vienne, Vosges, Yonne, Yvelines
CY	Cyprus	All regions
LU	Luxembourg	All regions
NL	Netherlands	All regions
AT	Austria	All regions
SI	Slovenia	All regions
SK	Slovakia	All regions
FI	Finland	All regions
SE	Sweden	All regions
UK	United Kingdom	All regions in England, Scotland and Wales

ANNEX II

Member States or regions thereof where approved national control programmes for the eradication of Aujeszky's disease are in place

ISO code	Member State	Regions
IE	Ireland	All regions
ES	Spain	All regions
IT	Italy	The province of Bolzano
HU	Hungary	All regions
PL	Poland	All regions
UK	United Kingdom	All regions in Northern Ireland'