Council Decision of 2 October 2008 appointing seven Bulgarian members and seven alternate Bulgarian members of the Committee of the Regions (2008/781/EC)

COUNCIL DECISION

of 2 October 2008

appointing seven Bulgarian members and seven alternate Bulgarian members of the Committee of the Regions

(2008/781/EC)

THE COUNCIL OF THE EUROPEAN UNION,

Having regard to the Treaty establishing the European Community, and in particular Article 263 thereof,

Having regard to the proposal of the Bulgarian Government,

Whereas:

- On 24 January 2006, the Council adopted Decision 2006/116/EC⁽¹⁾ appointing the members and alternate members of the Committee of the Regions for the period from 26 January 2006 to 25 January 2010.
- (2) Four members' seats on the Committee of the Regions have become vacant following the expiry of the mandates of Ms Antoaneta GEORGIEVA, Mr Yoan KOSTADINOV, Mr Veselin ZLATEV and Mr Bogomil BELCHEV. Three members' seats have become vacant following the resignations of Mr Remzi YUSEINOV, Mr Kiril YORDANOV and Mr Yordan LECHKOV. Four alternate members' seats have become vacant following the expiry of the mandates of Mr Delyan ENKIN, Mr Lachezar ROSENOV, Mr Nikola KOLEV and Ms Rumiana BOZUKOVA.
- (3) One alternate member's seat has become vacant following the resignation of Ms Anastasia MLADENOVA. Two alternate members' seats become vacant following the appointment of Mr Zlatko ZHIVKOV and Mr Vladimir MOSKOV as members of the Committee of the Regions,

HAS DECIDED AS FOLLOWS:

Article 1

The following are hereby appointed to the Committee of the Regions for the remainder of the current term of office, which runs until 25 January 2010:

(a) as members:

Ms Dora Ilieva YANKOVA — Mayor of Smolian municipality, Chairman of the management council of the National Assembly of the Municipalities of the Republic of Bulgaria (NAMRB) (кмет на община Смолян, председател на управителния съвет на Националното сдружение на общините в Република България (НСОРБ)),

members of the Committee of the Regions (2008/781/EC). (See end of Document for details)

Mr Georgi Ivanov SLAVOV — Mayor of Yambol municipality (кмет на община Ямбол),

Mr Guner Fariz SERBEST — Mayor of Stambolovo, Member of the management council of the National Assembly of the Municipalities of the Republic of Bulgaria (NAMRB) (кмет на Стамболово, член на управителния съвет на Националното сдружение на общините в Република България (НСОРБ)),

Ms Penka Nedelkova PENKOVA — Mayor of Lom, Vice-Chairman of the management council of the National Assembly of the Municipalities of the Republic of Bulgaria (NAMRB) (кмет на Лом, заместник-председател на управителния съвет на Националното сдружение на общините в Република България (НСОРБ)),

Mr Bojidar Ivanov YOTOV — Mayor of Ruse (кмет на Русе),

Mr Zlatko ZHIVKOV — Vice-Chairman of the management council of the National Assembly of the Municipalities of the Republic of Bulgaria (NAMRB), Mayor of Montana (заместник-председател на управителния съвет на Националното сдружение на общините в Република България (НСОРБ), кмет на Монтана),

Mr Vladimir MOSKOV — Member of the management council of the National Assembly of the Municipalities of the Republic of Bulgaria (NAMRB), Mayor of Gotse Delchev (член на управителния съвет на Националното сдружение на общините в Република България (НСОРБ), кмет на Гоце Делчев);

(b) as alternate members:

Mr Emil Hristov NAIDENOV — Mayor of Gorna Malina (кмет на Горна Малина),

Mr Svetlin Genov TANCHEV — Mayor of Stara Zagora (кмет на Стара Загора),

Mr Pavel Iliev DIMITROV — Municipal councillor, Varna (общински съветник, Варна),

Mr Veselin Petrov LICHEV — Mayor of Sopot (кмет на Сопот),

Mr Krasimir Blagoev KOSTOV — Mayor of Shumen (кмет на Шумен),

Mr Ivo Kirilov ANDONOV — Mayor of Silistra, Member of the management council of the National Assembly of the Municipalities of the Republic of Bulgaria (NAMRB) (кмет на Силистра, член на управителния съвет на Националното сдружение на общините в Република България (НСОРБ)),

Mr Rumen Georgiev RASHEV — Mayor of Veliko Turnovo, Member of the management council of the National Assembly of the Municipalities of the Republic of Bulgaria (NAMRB) (кмет на Велико Търново, член на управителния съвет на Националното сдружение на общините в Република България (НСОРБ)).

Article 2

This Decision shall take effect on the day of its adoption.

Status: Point in time view as at 02/10/2008. Changes to legislation: There are currently no known outstanding effects for the Council Decision of 2 October 2008 appointing seven Bulgarian members and seven alternate Bulgarian members of the Committee of the Regions (2008/781/EC). (See end of Document for details)

Done at Luxembourg, 2 October 2008.

For the Council The President X. BERTRAND Status: Point in time view as at 02/10/2008. Changes to legislation: There are currently no known outstanding effects for the Council Decision of 2 October 2008 appointing seven Bulgarian members and seven alternate Bulgarian members of the Committee of the Regions (2008/781/EC). (See end of Document for details)

(**1**) OJ L 56, 25.2.2006, p. 75.

Status:

Point in time view as at 02/10/2008.

Changes to legislation:

There are currently no known outstanding effects for the Council Decision of 2 October 2008 appointing seven Bulgarian members and seven alternate Bulgarian members of the Committee of the Regions (2008/781/EC).