## **COUNCIL DECISION**

## of 1 January 2007

# determining the order in which the office of President of the Council shall be held

(2007/5/EC, Euratom)

THE COUNCIL OF THE EUROPEAN UNION,

Having regard to the Treaty establishing the European Community, and in particular the second paragraph of Article 203 thereof,

Having regard to the Treaty establishing the European Atomic Energy Community, and in particular the second paragraph of Article 116 thereof,

Having regard to the Treaty on European Union, and in particular Articles 28(1) and 41(1) thereof,

## Whereas:

- (1) By Decision 2005/902/EC, Euratom (1) the Council established the order in which the office of President of the Council was to be held for the Member States of the European Union at the date of 1 January 2006.
- (2) The European Union was enlarged on 1 January 2007 to include two new Member States.
- (3) The order in which the office of President of the Council shall be held should accordingly be determined taking into account the new Member States, and a new Decision should be adopted to replace Decision 2005/902/EC, Euratom of 12 December 2005,

HAS DECIDED AS FOLLOWS:

#### Article 1

- 1. The order in which the Member States shall hold the Presidency of the Council from 1 January 2007 is set out in the Annex hereto.
- 2. The Council, acting unanimously on a proposal from the Member States concerned, may decide that a Member State may hold the Presidency during a period other than that resulting from the order established in the Annex hereto.

# Article 2

This Decision shall take effect on 1 January 2007.

Decision 2005/902/EC, Euratom shall be repealed.

## Article 3

This Decision shall be published in the Official Journal of the European Union.

Done at Brussels, 1 January 2007.

For the Council
The President
F.-W. STEINMEIER

# ANNEX

Germany	January-June	2007
Portugal	July-December	2007
Slovenia	January-June	2008
France	July-December	2008
Czech Republic	January-June	2009
Sweden	July-December	2009
Spain	January-June	2010
Belgium	July-December	2010
Hungary	January-June	2011
Poland	July-December	2011
Denmark	January-June	2012
Cyprus	July-December	2012
Ireland	January-June	2013
Lithuania	July-December	2013
Greece	January-June	2014
Italy	July-December	2014
Latvia	January-June	2015
Luxembourg	July-December	2015
Netherlands	January-June	2016
Slovakia	July-December	2016
Malta	January-June	2017
United Kingdom	July-December	2017
Estonia	January-June	2018
Bulgaria	July-December	2018
Austria	January-June	2019
Romania	July-December	2019
Finland	January-June	2020