### STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

# 2022 No. 810

# LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND

The Amber Valley (Electoral Changes) Order 2022

Made - - - 14th July 2022 Coming into force in accordance with article 1(2) and (3)

Under section 58(4) of the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009(1) ("the Act") the Local Government Boundary Commission for England(2) ("the Commission") published a report dated January 2022(3) stating its recommendations for changes to the electoral arrangements for the borough of Amber Valley. The Commission has decided to give effect to the recommendations.

A draft of the instrument has been laid before Parliament and a period of forty days has expired since the day on which it was laid and neither House has resolved that the instrument be not made.

The Commission makes the following Order in exercise of the power conferred by section 59(1) of the Act.

### Citation, commencement, extent and application

- 1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the Amber Valley (Electoral Changes) Order 2022.
- (2) This article and article 2 come into force on 15th October 2022.
- (3) Articles 3 and 4 come into force—
  - (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary or relating to the election of councillors, on 15th October 2022;
  - (b) for all other purposes, on the ordinary day of election of councillors in England(4) in 2023.
- (4) This Order extends to England and Wales but applies in relation to England only.

<sup>(1) 2009</sup> c. 20.

<sup>(2)</sup> The Local Government Boundary Commission for England was established on 1st April 2010 by section 55(1) of the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009.

<sup>(3)</sup> The report is available for inspection at reasonable times at the principal office of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England, 1st Floor, Windsor House, 50 Victoria Street, London SW1H 0TL. It is also accessible online at https://www.lgbce.org.uk/all-reviews/east-midlands/derbyshire/amber-valley.

<sup>(4)</sup> The ordinary day of election of councillors in England is prescribed by section 37(1) of the Representation of the People Act 1983 (c. 2), as amended by section 18(2) of the Representation of the People Act 1985 (c. 50), renumbered by paragraph 5 of Schedule 3 to the Greater London Authority Act 1999 (c. 29), and further amended by section 6(16) of the Wales Act 2017 (c. 4).

### Interpretation

- **2.**—(1) In this Order, "the map" means the map marked "Map referred to in the Amber Valley (Electoral Changes) Order 2022", held by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England(5).
- (2) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, watercourse or similar geographical feature, it is to be treated as running along the centre line of the feature

# Wards of the borough of Amber Valley and number of councillors

- **3.**—(1) The existing wards of the borough of Amber Valley are abolished (6).
- (2) The borough of Amber Valley is divided into the 18 wards listed in the first column of the table in Schedule 1.
  - (3) Each ward comprises the area identified on the map by reference to the name of the ward.
- (4) The number of councillors to be elected for each ward is the number specified in relation to that ward in the second column of the table in Schedule 1.

### Wards of the parishes of Belper, Heanor & Loscoe and Ripley and number of councillors

- **4.**—(1) The existing wards of the parishes of Belper, Heanor & Loscoe and Ripley are abolished.
- (2) The parish of Belper is divided into the four parish wards listed in the first column of table 1 in Schedule 2.
- (3) The parish of Heanor & Loscoe is divided into the four parish wards listed in the first column of table 2 in Schedule 2.
- (4) The parish of Ripley is divided into the ten parish wards listed in the first column of table 3 in Schedule 2.
- (5) Each parish ward comprises the area identified on the map by reference to the name of the parish ward.
- (6) The number of parish councillors to be elected for each parish ward is the number specified in relation to that ward in the second column of the relevant table in Schedule 2.

<sup>(5)</sup> Prints of the map are available for inspection at reasonable times at the principal office of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England, 1st Floor, Windsor House, 50 Victoria Street, London SW1H 0TL. It is also accessible online at https://www.lgbce.org.uk/all-reviews/east-midlands/derbyshire/amber-valley.

<sup>(6)</sup> At a meeting that took place on 13th November 2019, Amber Valley Borough Council resolved to change its electoral cycle from electing by thirds to full-council elections, beginning in 2023. The minutes of the meeting may be accessed at https://info.ambervalley.gov.uk/WebServices/AVBCFeeds/DemocracyJSON.asmx/StreamCommitteeDoc, or available upon request from Amber Valley Borough Council, Town Hall, Ripley, Derbyshire DE5 3BT.

Sealed with the seal of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England



Jolyon Jackson Chief Executive Local Government Boundary Commission for England

14th July 2022

# SCHEDULE 1 Article 3

# Wards of the borough of Amber Valley and numbers of councillors

(1)	(2)
Name of ward	Number of councillors
Alfreton	3
Alport & South West Parishes	2
Belper East	3
Belper North	2
Belper South	2
Codnor, Langley Mill & Aldercar	3
Crich & South Wingfield	2
Duffield & Quarndon	2
Heage & Ambergate	2
Heanor East	2
Heanor West & Loscoe	3
Ironville & Riddings	2
Kilburn, Denby, Holbrook & Horsley	3
Ripley	3
Ripley & Marehay	2
Smalley, Shipley & Horsley Woodhouse	2
Somercotes	2
Swanwick	2

# SCHEDULE 2 Article 4

# Names of parish wards and numbers of parish councillors

# Table 1 Parish wards of the parish of Belper

(1)	(2)
Name of parish ward	Number of parish councillors
Belper Central	1
Belper East	7
Belper North	4

(1)	(2)
Name of parish ward	Number of parish councillors
Belper South	4

Table 2

Parish wards of the parish of Heanor & Loscoe

(1)	(2)	
Name of parish ward	Number of parish councillors	
Heanor Central	1	
Heanor East	7	
Heanor West	6	
Loscoe	7	

Table 3

Parish wards of the parish of Ripley

(1)	(2)	
Name of parish ward	Number of parish councillors	
Ambergate	3	
Butterley	2	
Heage	3	
Peasehill	1	
Ripley Central	2	
Ripley East	4	
Ripley Elms	2	
Ripley Marehay	1	
Ripley North	2	
Waingroves	1	

#### EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order makes changes to electoral arrangements for the borough of Amber Valley following recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England. The area of the borough remains unchanged.

Article 3 abolishes the existing electoral wards of the borough of Amber Valley and replaces them with 18 new ones for the purpose of elections held on or after the ordinary day of election of councillors in England in 2023. It establishes the names and areas of the new electoral wards and the number of councillors for each.

Article 4 makes changes to parish wards that are consequential on the changes made by article 3.

The area covered by each ward created by this Order is identified on a map which is available for inspection at reasonable times at the offices of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England, 1st Floor, Windsor House, 50 Victoria Street, London SW1H 0TL.

The map may also be accessed at https://www.lgbce.org.uk/all-reviews/east-midlands/derbyshire/amber-valley.

A full impact assessment has not been produced for this instrument as no, or no significant, impact on the private, voluntary or public sectors is foreseen.