STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

# 2022 No. 1357

# LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND

The Lancaster (Electoral Changes) Order 2022

Made - - - - 16th December 2022 Coming into force in accordance with article 1(2) and (3)

Under section 58(4) of the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009(1) ("the Act") the Local Government Boundary Commission for England(2) ("the Commission") published a report dated May 2022(3) stating its recommendations for changes to the electoral arrangements for the district of Lancaster. The Commission has decided to give effect to the recommendations.

A draft of the instrument has been laid before Parliament and a period of forty days has expired since the day on which it was laid and neither House has resolved that the instrument be not made.

The Commission makes the following Order in exercise of the power conferred by section 59(1) of the Act.

# Citation, commencement, extent and application

1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the Lancaster (Electoral Changes) Order 2022.

- (2) This article and article 2 come into force on the day after the day on which this Order is made.
- (3) Articles 3 and 4 come into force—
  - (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary or relating to the election of councillors, on the day after the day on which this Order is made;
  - (b) for all other purposes, on the ordinary day of election of councillors in England(4) in 2023.
- (4) This Order extends to England and Wales but applies in relation to England only.

<sup>(1) 2009</sup> c. 20.

<sup>(2)</sup> The Local Government Boundary Commission for England was established on 1st April 2010 by section 55(1) of the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009.

<sup>(3)</sup> The report is available for inspection at reasonable times at the principal office of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England, 1st Floor, Windsor House, 50 Victoria Street, London SW1H 0TL. It is also accessible online at https://www.lgbce.org.uk/all-reviews/north-west/lancashire/lancaster

<sup>(4)</sup> The ordinary day of election of councillors in England is prescribed by section 37(1) of the Representation of the People Act 1983 (c. 2), as amended by section 18(2) of the Representation of the People Act 1985 (c. 50), renumbered by paragraph 5 of Schedule 3 to the Greater London Authority Act 1999 (c. 29), and further amended by section 6(16) of the Wales Act 2017 (c. 4).

#### Interpretation

**2.**—(1) In this Order, "the map" means the map marked "Map referred to in the Lancaster (Electoral Changes) Order 2022", held by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England(5).

(2) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, watercourse or similar geographical feature, it is to be treated as running along the centre line of the feature.

## Wards of the district of Lancaster and number of councillors

**3.**—(1) The existing wards of the district of Lancaster are abolished.

(2) The district of Lancaster is divided into the 27 wards listed in the first column of the table in Schedule 1.

(3) Each ward comprises the area identified on the map by reference to the name of the ward.

(4) The number of councillors to be elected for each ward is the number specified in relation to that ward in the second column of the table in Schedule 1.

# Parish wards of the parishes of Halton-with-Aughton, Scotforth and Slyne-with-Hest and number of councillors

**4.**—(1) The existing parish wards of the parishes of Halton-with-Aughton, Scotforth and Slyne-with-Hest are abolished.

(2) The parish of Halton-with-Aughton is divided into the two parish wards listed in the first column of Table 1 in Schedule 2.

(3) The parish of Scotforth is divided into the three parish wards listed in the first column of Table 2 in Schedule 2.

(4) The parish of Slyne-with-Hest is divided into the two parish wards listed in the first column of Table 3 in Schedule 2.

(5) Each parish ward comprises the area identified on the map by reference to the name of the parish ward.

(6) The number of councillors to be elected for each parish ward is the number specified in relation to that parish ward in the second column of the relevant table in Schedule 2.

<sup>(5)</sup> Prints of the map are available for inspection at reasonable times at the principal office of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England, 1st Floor, Windsor House, 50 Victoria Street, London SW1H 0TL. It is also accessible online at https://www.lgbce.org.uk/all-reviews/north-west/lancashire/lancaster

**Status:** This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

Sealed with the seal of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England



Jolyon Jackson Chief Executive Local Government Boundary Commission for England

16th December 2022

**Status:** This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

# SCHEDULE 1

Article 3

# Wards of the district of Lancaster and number of councillors

(1)	(2)	
Name of ward	Number of councillors	
Bare	3	
Bolton & Slyne	3	
Bowerham	2	
Bulk	3	
Carnforth & Millhead	3	
Castle	3	
Ellel	2	
Halton-with-Aughton & Kellet	2	
Heysham Central	2	
Heysham North	2	
Heysham South	3	
John O'Gaunt	2	
Lower Lune Valley	2	
Marsh	3	
Overton	1	
Poulton	2	
Scale Hall	3	
Scotforth East	2	
Scotforth West	2	
Silverdale	1	
Skerton	3	
Torrisholme	2	
University	2	
Upper Lune Valley	1	
Warton	1	
West End	3	
Westgate	3	

**Status:** This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

# SCHEDULE 2

Article 4

# Names of parish wards and number of councillors

## Table 1

# Parish wards of the parish of Halton-with-Aughton

(1)	(2)
Name of parish ward	Number of councillors
Halton-with-Aughton East	6
Halton-with-Aughton West	2

# Table 2

#### Parish wards of the parish of Scotforth

(1)	(2)
Name of parish ward	Number of councillors
Burrow Heights	1
Scotforth	3
University	1

# Table 3

## Parish wards of the parish of Slyne-with-Hest

(1)	(2)
Name of parish ward	Number of councillors
Slyne-with-Hest North	5
Slyne-with-Hest South	2

# **EXPLANATORY NOTE**

#### (This note is not part of the Order)

This Order makes changes to electoral arrangements for the district of Lancaster following recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England. The area of the district remains unchanged.

Article 3 abolishes the existing electoral wards of the district of Lancaster and replaces them with 27 new ones for the purpose of elections held on or after the ordinary day of election of councillors

in England in 2023. It establishes the names and areas of the new electoral wards and the number of councillors for each.

Article 4 makes changes to parish wards that are consequential on the changes made by article 3.

The area covered by each ward created by this Order is identified on a map which is available for inspection at reasonable times at the offices of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England, 1st Floor, Windsor House, 50 Victoria Street, London SW1H 0TL.

The map may also be accessed at https://www.lgbce.org.uk/all-reviews/north-west/lancashire/ lancaster.

A full impact assessment has not been produced for this instrument as no, or no significant, impact on the private, voluntary or public sectors is foreseen.