#### STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

### 2022 No. 1137

## The Stratford-on-Avon (Electoral Changes) Order 2022

#### Citation, commencement, extent and application

- 1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the Stratford-on-Avon (Electoral Changes) Order 2022.
- (2) This article and article 2 come into force on the day after the day on which this Order is made.
- (3) Articles 3 and 4 come into force—
  - (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary or relating to the election of councillors on the day after the day on which this Order is made;
  - (b) for all other purposes, on the ordinary day of election of councillors in England(1) in 2023.
- (4) This Order extends to England and Wales but applies in relation to England only.

#### Interpretation

- **2.**—(1) In this Order, "the map" means the map marked "Map referred to in the Stratford-on-Avon (Electoral Changes) Order 2022", held by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England(2).
- (2) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, watercourse or similar geographical feature, it is to be treated as running along the centre line of the feature.

#### Wards of the district of Stratford-on-Avon and number of councillors

- **3.**—(1) The existing wards of the district of Stratford-on-Avon are abolished.
- (2) The district of Stratford-on-Avon is divided into the 39 wards listed in the first column of the table in Schedule 1.
  - (3) Each ward comprises the area identified on the map by reference to the name of the ward.
- (4) The number of councillors to be elected for each ward is the number specified in relation to that ward in the second column of the table in Schedule 1.

# Parish wards of the parishes of Alcester, Bidford-on-Avon, Quinton, Sambourne, Shipston-on-Stour, Southam, Stratford-upon-Avon, Studley, Upper Lighthorne and Wellesbourne & Walton, and number of councillors

**4.**—(1) The existing parish wards of the parishes of Alcester, Bidford-on-Avon, Quinton, Sambourne, Shipston-on-Stour, Southam, Stratford-upon-Avon, Studley, Upper Lighthorne and Wellesbourne & Walton are abolished.

<sup>(1)</sup> The ordinary day of election of councillors in England is prescribed by section 37(1) of the Representation of the People Act 1983 (c. 2), as amended by section 18(2) of the Representation of the People Act 1985 (c. 50), renumbered by paragraph 5 of Schedule 3 to the Greater London Authority Act 1999 (c. 29), and further amended by section 6(16) of the Wales Act 2017 (c. 4).

<sup>(2)</sup> Prints of the map are available for inspection at reasonable times at the principal office of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England, 1st Floor, Windsor House, 50 Victoria Street, London SW1H 0TL. It is also accessible online at <a href="https://www.lgbce.org.uk/all-reviews/west-midlands/warwickshire/stratford-on-avon">https://www.lgbce.org.uk/all-reviews/west-midlands/warwickshire/stratford-on-avon</a>

- (2) The parish of Alcester is divided into the two parish wards listed in the first column of Table 1 in Schedule 2.
- (3) The parish of Bidford-on-Avon is divided into the two parish wards listed in the first column of Table 2 in Schedule 2.
- (4) The parish of Quinton is divided into the three parish wards listed in the first column of Table 3 in Schedule 2.
- (5) The parish of Sambourne is divided into the two parish wards listed in the first column of Table 4 in Schedule 2.
- (6) The parish of Shipston-on-Stour is divided into the two parish wards listed in the first column of Table 5 in Schedule 2.
- (7) The parish of Southam is divided into the four parish wards listed in the first column of Table 6 in Schedule 2.
- (8) The parish of Stratford-upon-Avon is divided into the 12 parish wards listed in the first column of Table 7 in Schedule 2.
- (9) The parish of Studley is divided into the two parish wards listed in the first column of Table 8 in Schedule 2.
- (10) The parish of Upper Lighthorne is divided into the two parish wards listed in the first column of Table 9 in Schedule 2.
- (11) The parish of Wellesbourne & Walton is divided into the three parish wards listed in the first column of Table 10 in Schedule 2.
- (12) Each parish ward comprises the area identified on the map by reference to the name of the parish ward.
- (13) The number of councillors to be elected for each parish ward is the number specified in relation to that parish ward in the second column of the relevant table in Schedule 2.

Sealed with the seal of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England



Jolyon Jackson Chief Executive Local Government Boundary Commission for England

4th November 2022