STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2020 No. 73

LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND

The Northumberland (Electoral Changes) Order 2020

Made - - - 27th January 2020 Coming into force in accordance with article 1(2) and (3)

Under section 92(2) of the Local Government and Public Involvement in Health Act 2007(1), Northumberland County Council ("the Council") made recommendations in a review to the Local Government Boundary Commission for England(2) for the related alteration of the boundaries of county electoral divisions within the Council's area.

The Local Government Boundary Commission for England has decided to give effect to the recommendations and makes the following Order in exercise of the power conferred by section 92(3) of that Act.

Citation and commencement

1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the Northumberland (Electoral Changes) Order 2020.

- (2) This article comes into force on the day after the day on which this Order is made.
- (3) Article 2 comes into force—
 - (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary or relating to the election of councillors, on the day after the day on which this Order is made;
 - (b) for all other purposes, on the ordinary day of election of councillors in England(3) in 2021.

Alteration of county electoral division boundaries

2. Each area that ceases to be part of the parish listed in the first column of the table in the Schedule and becomes part of the parish listed in the corresponding entry in the second column of that table, in consequence of the Northumberland (Reorganisation of Community Governance)

 ²⁰⁰⁷ c. 28. Section 92 was amended by paragraph 32 of Schedule 4 to the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009 (c. 20) ("the 2009 Act").

⁽²⁾ The Local Government Boundary Commission for England was established on 1st April 2010 by section 55(1) of the 2009 Act. The functions of the Electoral Commission under Chapter 3 of Part 4 of the Local Government and Public Involvement in Health Act 2007 ("the 2007 Act") were transferred under section 60 of the 2009 Act to the Local Government Boundary Commission for England on 1st April 2010.

⁽³⁾ The ordinary day of election of councillors in England is prescribed by section 37(1) of the Representation of the People Act 1983 (c. 2), as amended by section 18(2) of the Representation of the People Act 1985 (c. 50) and section 6(16) of the Wales Act 2017 (c. 4).

(Parishes of Blyth and Seaton Valley) Order 2018(4), ceases to be part of the county electoral division listed in the corresponding entry in the third column of that table and becomes part of the county electoral division listed in the corresponding entry in the fourth column of that table.

Sealed with the seal of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England



Jolyon Jackson Chief Executive Local Government Boundary Commission for England

27th January 2020

⁽⁴⁾ That Order was made on 7th March 2018 by Northumberland County Council under section 86 of the 2007 Act; such Orders are not required to be made by statutory instrument. The Order is accessible at https://s3-eu-west-2.amazonaws.com/lgbce/ Reviews/North%20East/Northumberland/CGR/Final%20Order%20Blyth%20and%20Seaton%20Valley.pdf A hard copy of that Order is also available for inspection at reasonable times at the offices of Northumberland County Council, County Hall, Morpeth, Northumberland, NE61 2EF.

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

SC		Article
(2)	(3)	(4)
To parish	From county electoral division	To county electoral division
Seaton Valley	Newsham	Seghill
parish		with
		Seaton
		Delaval
Blyth parish	Seghill	Newsham
parish	with	
	Seaton	
	Delaval	
-	(2) To parish Seaton Valley parish	To parishFrom county electoral divisionSeaton ValleyNewshamparishImage: Seaton ValleyBlyth parishSeghill with Seaton

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order gives effect to recommendations made by Northumberland County Council to the Local Government Boundary Commission for England for related alterations of county electoral division boundaries.

These alterations are a consequence of changes to certain parish boundaries introduced by the Northumberland (Reorganisation of Community Governance) (Parishes of Blyth and Seaton Valley) Order 2018 ("the 2018 Order") made under section 86 of the Local Government and Public Involvement in Health Act 2007 (c. 28) by Northumberland County Council.

The changes to the county electoral division boundaries under article 2 and the Schedule apply in respect of elections to be held on and after the ordinary day of election of councillors in England in 2021.

The 2018 Order is accessible at: https://s3-eu-west-2.amazonaws.com/lgbce/Reviews/North %20East/Northumberland/CGR/Final%20Order%20Blyth%20and%20Seaton%20Valley.pdf.

A hard copy of that Order is also available for inspection at reasonable times at the offices of Northumberland County Council, County Hall, Morpeth, Northumberland, NE61 2EF.

An impact assessment has not been produced for this instrument as no impact on the private or voluntary sectors is foreseen.