STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

## 2016 No. 1202

## LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND

The London Borough of Southwark (Electoral Changes) Order 2016

Made - - - 23rd November 2016 Coming into force in accordance with article 1(2)

Under section 58(4) of the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009(1) ("the Act") the Local Government Boundary Commission for England(2) ("the Commission") published a report dated July 2016 stating its recommendation for changes to the electoral arrangements for the London Borough of Southwark. The Commission has decided to give effect to the recommendations.

A draft of the instrument has been laid before each House of Parliament, a period of forty days has expired since the day on which it was laid and neither House has resolved that the instrument be not made.

The Commission makes the following Order in exercise of the power conferred by section 59(1) of the Act.

#### Citation and commencement

**1.**—(1) This Order may be cited as the London Borough of Southwark (Electoral Changes) Order 2016.

- (2) This Order comes into force—
  - (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary or relating to the election of councillors, on 16 October 2017;
  - (b) for all other purposes, on the ordinary day of election of councillors(3) in 2018.

<sup>(</sup>**1**) 2009 c.20.

<sup>(2)</sup> The Local Government Boundary Commission for England was established on 1st April 2010 by section 55(1) of the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009.

<sup>(3)</sup> The ordinary day of election of councillors is prescribed by section 37(1) of the Representation of the People Act 1983 (c.2).

#### Interpretation

**2.**—(1) In this Order "the map" means the map marked "Map referred to in the London Borough of Southwark (Electoral Changes) Order 2016", held by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England(**4**).

(2) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, watercourse or similar geographical feature, it is to be treated as running along the centre line of the feature.

#### Wards of the London Borough of Southwark and number of councillors

**3.**—(1) The existing wards of the London Borough of Southwark are abolished.

(2) The London Borough of Southwark is divided into 23 wards as listed in the first column of the table in the Schedule.

(3) Each ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the ward.

(4) The number of councillors to be elected for each ward is the number specified in relation to that ward in the second column of the table in the Schedule.

Sealed with the seal of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England



Jolyon Jackson Chief Executive Local Government Boundary Commission for England

23rd November 2016

<sup>(4)</sup> Prints of the map are available for inspection at reasonable times at the principal office of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England, 14th floor, Millbank Tower, London SW1P 4QP and is also accessible online at www.lgbce.org.uk.

# **Status:** This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

#### SCHEDULE

Article 3

### Names of borough wards and number of councillors

(1)	(2)
Name of London borough ward	Number of councillors
Borough & Bankside	3
Camberwell Green	3
Champion Hill	2
Chaucer	3
Dulwich Hill	2
Dulwich Village	2
Dulwich Wood	2
Faraday	3
Goose Green	3
London Bridge & West Bermondsey	3
Newington	3
North Bermondsey	3
North Walworth	3
Nunhead & Queen's Road	3
Old Kent Road	3
Peckham	3
Peckham Rye	2
Rotherhithe	3
Rye Lane	3
South Bermondsey	3
St George's	2
St Giles	3
Surrey Docks	3

#### **EXPLANATORY NOTE**

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order makes changes to electoral arrangements for the London Borough of Southwark following recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England. The area of the borough remains unchanged. The electoral changes in article 3 apply in respect of local government elections to be held on and after the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2018.

Article 3 abolishes the existing wards of the London Borough of Southwark and replaces them with 23 new ones. That article together with the map (as defined in article 2) also establish the names, areas and number of councillors of the new wards.

The map shows the areas of the new borough wards and is available at https://www.lgbce.org.uk/ current-reviews/greater-london/southwark It is also available for inspection at reasonable times at the offices of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England, 14th floor, Millbank Tower, London SW1P 4QP.

An impact assessment has not been produced for this instrument as no impact on the private or voluntary sectors is foreseen.