#### STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

# 2015 No. 78

# LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND

The High Peak (Electoral Changes) Order 2015

*Made - - - - 27th January 2015* 

Coming into force in accordance with article 1(2)

Under section 58(4) of the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009(1) ("the Act") the Local Government Boundary Commission for England(2) ("the Commission") published a report dated September 2014 stating its recommendations for changes to the electoral arrangements for the district of High Peak. The Commission has decided to give effect to the recommendations.

A draft of the instrument has been laid before Parliament and a period of forty days has expired and neither House has resolved that the instrument be not made.

The Commission makes the following Order in exercise of the power conferred by section 59(1) of the Act:

#### Citation and commencement

- 1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the High Peak (Electoral Changes) Order 2015.
- (2) This Order comes into force—
  - (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary or relating to the election of councillors, on the day after it is made;
  - (b) for all other purposes, on the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2015.

#### Interpretation

2. In this Order—

"map" means the map marked "Map referred to in the High Peak (Electoral Changes) Order 2015", prints of which are available for inspection at the principal office of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England;

<sup>(1) 2009</sup> c.20.

<sup>(2)</sup> The Local Government Boundary Commission for England was established on 1st April 2010 by section 55(1) of the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009.

"ordinary day of election of councillors" has the meaning given by section 37 of the Representation of the People Act 1983(3).

## Wards of the district of High Peak and number of councillors

- **3.**—(1) The existing wards of the district of High Peak are abolished.
- (2) The district of High Peak is divided into 28 district wards, each listed by name in the first column of the table in the Schedule.
- (3) Each district ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the district ward.
- (4) The number of councillors to be elected for each district ward is the number specified in relation to that ward in the second column of the table in the Schedule.
- (5) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, watercourse or similar geographical feature, it is to be treated as running along the centre line of the feature.

# Wards of the parish of Chapel-en-le-Frith and number of councillors

- **4.**—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Chapel-en-le-Frith are abolished.
- (2) The parish of Chapel-en-le-Frith is divided into four parish wards named respectively—
  - (a) Barren Clough Combs & Whitehough;
  - (b) Chapel East;
  - (c) Chapel West;
  - (d) Dove Holes & Martinside.
- (3) Each parish ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the parish ward.
- (4) Two councillors are to be elected for each of Barren Clough Combs & Whitehough and Dove Holes & Martinside parish wards.
  - (5) Three councillors are to be elected for Chapel East parish ward.
  - (6) Six councillors are to be elected for Chapel West parish ward.

### Wards of the parish of Hayfield and number of councillors

- **5.**—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Hayfield are abolished.
- (2) The parish of Hayfield is divided into two parish wards named respectively—
  - (a) Hayfield Town;
  - (b) Hayfield West.
- (3) Each parish ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the parish ward.
  - (4) Eight councillors are to be elected for Hayfield Town parish ward.
  - (5) Two councillors are to be elected for Hayfield West parish ward.

<sup>(3) 1983</sup> c.2; section 37 has been amended by section 18(2) of the Representation of the People Act 1985 (c.50), paragraph 5 of Schedule 3 to the Greater London Authority Act 1999 (c.29) and section 60(1) of the Local Government and Public Involvement in Health Act 2007 (c.28).

# Wards of the parish of New Mills and number of councillors

- **6.**—(1) The existing wards of the parish of New Mills are abolished.
- (2) The parish of New Mills is divided into three parish wards named respectively—
  - (a) Ollersett;
  - (b) Thornsett;
  - (c) Whitle.
- (3) Each parish ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the parish ward.
  - (4) Five councillors are to be elected for each of Ollersett and Whitle parish wards.
  - (5) Two councillors are to be elected for Thornsett parish ward.

Sealed with the seal of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England on the 27th day of January 2015



Max Caller
Chairman
Local Government Boundary Commission for
England

27th January 2015

SCHEDULE Article 3

Names of district wards and number of councillors

(1)	(2)
Name of district ward	Number of councillors
Barms	1
Blackbrook	2
Burbage	1
Buxton Central	2
Chapel East	1
Chapel West	2
Corbar	2
Cote Heath	2
Dinting	1
Gamesley	1
Hadfield North	1
Hadfield South	2
Hayfield	1
Hope Valley	2
Howard Town	2
Limestone Peak	1
New Mills East	2
New Mills West	2
Old Glossop	2
Padfield	1
Sett	1
Simmondley	2
St John's	1
Stone Bench	2
Temple	1
Tintwistle	1
Whaley Bridge	3
Whitfield	1

#### **EXPLANATORY NOTE**

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order makes changes to electoral arrangements for the district of High Peak, which is a non-metropolitan district with borough status, following recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England. The area of the district remains unchanged. The electoral changes apply in respect of local government elections to be held on and after the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2015.

Article 3 abolishes the existing wards of the district of High Peak and replaces them with 28 new ones. That article, the map (as defined in article 2) and the Schedule also establish the names, areas and number of councillors of the new district wards.

Articles 4 to 6 abolish the existing wards of the parishes of (i) Chapel-en-le-Frith, (ii) Hayfield and (iii) New Mills and replace them with new ones. Those articles and the map (as defined in article 2) also establish the names, areas and number of councillors of the new parish wards.

The map defined in article 2 shows the new district and parish wards. It is available at https://www.lgbce.org.uk/current-reviews/east-midlands/derbyshire/high-peak-fer. he map is also available for inspection at all reasonable times at the offices of High Peak Borough Council, Buxton Town Hall, Market Place, Buxton, Derbyshire SK17 8AF and at the offices of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England at Layden House, 76 – 86 Turnmill Street, London EC1M 5LG.

An impact assessment has not been produced for this instrument as no impact on the private or voluntary sectors is foreseen.