STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2014 No. 20

LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND

The Herefordshire (Electoral Changes) Order 2014

Made--8th January 2014Coming into force in accordance with article 1(2)

Under section 58(4) of the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009(1) ("the Act") the Local Government Boundary Commission for England(2) published a report dated March 2013 stating its recommendations for changes to the electoral arrangements for the district of Herefordshire. The Commission has decided to give effect to the recommendations.

A draft of the instrument has been laid before Parliament and a period of forty days has expired and neither House has resolved that the instrument be not made.

The Commission makes the following Order in exercise of the power conferred by section 59(1) of the Act:

Citation and commencement

1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the Herefordshire (Electoral Changes) Order 2014.

- (2) This Order comes into force—
 - (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary or relating to the election of councillors, on 15th October 2014;
 - (b) for all other purposes, on the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2015.

Interpretation

2. In this Order—

"map" means the map marked "Map referred to in the Herefordshire (Electoral Changes) Order 2014", prints of which are available for inspection at the principal office of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England;

⁽**1**) 2009 c.20.

⁽²⁾ The Local Government Boundary Commission for England was established on 1st April 2010 by section 55(1) of the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009 (c.20).

"ordinary day of election of councillors" has the meaning given by section 37 of the Representation of the People Act 1983(3).

Wards of the district of Herefordshire and number of councillors

3.—(1) The existing wards of the district of Herefordshire are abolished.

(2) The district of Herefordshire is divided into 53 district wards, each listed by name in Schedule 1.

(3) Each district ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the district ward.

(4) One councillor is to be elected for each district ward.

(5) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, watercourse or similar geographical feature, it is to be treated as running along the centre line of the feature.

Parish wards and number of councillors

4.—(1) The existing wards of the following parishes are abolished—

- (a) Hereford;
- (b) Ledbury;
- (c) Leominster;
- (d) Ross-on-Wye;
- (e) Ross Rural.

(2) The parish of Bromyard and Winslow is divided into two parish wards, each listed by name in the first column of the first table in Schedule 2.

(3) The parish of Hereford is divided into 16 parish wards, each listed by name in the first column of the second table in Schedule 2.

(4) The parish of Ledbury is divided into three parish wards, each listed by name in the first column of the third table in Schedule 2.

(5) The parish of Leominster is divided into four parish wards, each listed by name in the first column of the fourth table in Schedule 2.

(6) The parish of Ross-on-Wye is divided into three parish wards, each listed by name in the first column of the fifth table in Schedule 2.

(7) The parish of Ross Rural is divided into two parish wards, each listed by name in the first column of the sixth table in Schedule 2.

(8) Each parish ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the parish ward.

(9) The number of councillors to be elected for each parish ward is the number specified in relation to that ward in the second column of each table in Schedule 2.

^{(3) 1983} c.2; section 37 has been amended by section 18(2) of the Representation of the People Act 1985 (c.50), paragraph 5 of Schedule 3 to the Greater London Authority Act 1999 (c.29) and section 60(1) of the Local Government and Public Involvement in Health Act 2007 (c.28).

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

Sealed with the seal of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England on the 8th day of January 2014



Max Caller Chairman Local Government Boundary Commission for England

8th January 2014

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

SCHEDULE 1

Names of district wards

Article 3

Arrow	
Aylestone Hill	
Backbury	
Belmont Rural	
Birch	
Bircher	
Bishops Frome & Cradley	
Bobblestock	
Bromyard Bringsty	
Bromyard West	
Castle	
Central	
College	
Credenhill	
Dinedor Hill	
Eign Hill	
Golden Valley North	
Golden Valley South	
Greyfriars	
Hagley	
Hampton	
Hinton & Hunderton	
Holmer	
Hope End	
Kerne Bridge	
Kings Acre	
Kington	
Ledbury North	
Ledbury South	
Ledbury West	
Leominster East	
Leominster North & Rural	

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

Leominster South Leominster West Llangarron Mortimer Newton Farm Old Gore Penyard Queenswood Red Hill Ross East Ross North Ross West Saxon Gate Stoney Street Sutton Walls Three Crosses Tupsley Weobley Whitecross Widemarsh Wormside

SCHEDULE 2

Article 4

Table 1

Bromyard and Winslow

(1)	(2)
Name of parish ward	Number of councillors
Bromyard East	4
Bromyard West	14

Table 2

Hereford

(1)	(2)
Name of parish ward	Number of councillors
Aylestone Hill	1
Bobblestock	1
Central	1
College	1
Eign Hill	1
Greyfriars	1
Hinton & Hunderton	2
Kings Acre	1
Newton Farm	2
Racecourse	1
Red Hill	1
Saxon Gate	1
Tupsley	1
Victoria Park	1
Whitecross	1
Widemarsh	1

Table 3

Ledbury

(1)	(2)	
Name of parish ward	Number of councillors	
Ledbury North	6	
Ledbury South	6	
Ledbury West	6	

Table 4

Leominster

(1)	(2)
Name of parish ward	Number of councillors
Leominster East	4
Leominster North	4
Leominster South	4
Leominster West	4

Table 5

Ross-on-Wye

(1)	(2)			
Name of parish ward	Number of councillors			
Ross East	4			
Ross North	4			
Ross West	4			
Table 6				
Ross Rural				
(1)	(2)			
Name of parish ward	Number of councillors			
Greytree	5			
Hildersley	3			

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order makes changes to electoral arrangements for the district of Herefordshire following recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England. The area of the district remains unchanged.

The electoral changes apply in respect of local government elections to be held on and after the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2015.

Article 3 abolishes the existing wards of the district of Herefordshire and replaces them with 53 new ones. That article, the map (as defined in article 2) and Schedule 1 also establish the names, areas and number of councillors of the new district wards.

Article 4 replaces the existing wards of the parishes of Hereford, Ledbury, Leominster, Ross-on-Wye and Ross Rural respectively and establishes wards in the parish of Bromyard and Winslow which was formerly unwarded. That article, the map and Schedule 2 also establish the names, areas and number of councillors for each of the new parish wards.

The map defined in article 2 shows the new district wards and parish wards. It is available at http://www.lgbce.org.uk/all-reviews/west-midlands/herefordshire/herefordshire-fer. The map is also available for inspection at all reasonable times at the offices of Herefordshire Council at Brockington, 35 Hafod Road, Hereford, HR1 1SH and at the office of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England at Layden House, 76 – 86 Turnmill Street, London EC1M 5LG.

An impact assessment has not been produced for this instrument as no impact on the private or voluntary sectors is foreseen.