STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2006 No. 1949

OFFSHORE INSTALLATIONS

The Offshore Installations (Safety Zones) (No.3) Order 2006

 Made
 18th July 2006

 Coming into force
 8th August 2006

The Secretary of State, in exercise of the powers conferred upon him by sections 22(1) and (2) of the Petroleum Act 1987(1) ("the Act"), and for the purpose of giving effect to proposals submitted to him by the Health and Safety Commission under section 24(2A) of the Act, hereby makes the following Order:

Citation and commencement

1. This Order may be cited as the Offshore Installations (Safety Zones) (No.3) Order 2006 and shall come into force on 8th August 2006.

Establishment of safety zones

2. A safety zone is established around each installation specified in column 1 of the Schedule (being an installation stationed in waters to which subsection (7) of section 21 of the Petroleum Act 1987 applies) having a radius of five hundred meters from the point as respects that installation which has the co-ordinates of latitude and longitude according to European Datum (1950) specified in columns 2 and 3 of the Schedule.

Signed by the authority of the Secretary of State for Work and Pensions.

Philip Hunt
Parliamentary Under Secretary of State,
Department for Work and Pensions

18th July 2006

SAFETY ZONES

SCHEDULE Article 2

(1)	(2)	(3)
Name or other designation of the offshore installation	Latitude North	Longitude
Orion Mey P2,	56° 26.06'	02° 32.37 E
Block 30/18E, Orion Field		
Brenda Subsea Manifold,	58° 11.77'	0° 58.41' E
Block 15/25, Brenda Field		
Nicol Well, Block 15/25,	58° 14.91'	0° 50.81' E
Nicol Field		
Dumbarton DCC Manifold,	58° 22.23'	0° 53.07' E
Block 15/20a, Dumbarton Field		
Goosander Production Well 21/12-3, Block 21/12,	57° 30.41'	0° 19.05′ E
Goosander Field		

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order establishes, under section 22 of the Petroleum Act 1987, safety zones having a radius of 500 metres from the point around each installation specified in the Schedule and stationed in waters to which section 21(7) of the Act applies (these include territorial waters and waters in areas designated under section 1(7) of the Continental Shelf Act 1964 (c. 29)) (article 2).

Vessels, which for this purpose include hovercraft, submersible apparatus and installations in transit, are prohibited from entering or remaining in a safety zone except with the consent of the Health and Safety Executive or in accordance with regulations made under section 23(1) of the Act (currently the Offshore Installations (Safety Zones) Regulations (S.I.1987/1331)).