STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2006 No. 1405

The District of North Kesteven (Electoral Changes) Order 2006

Citation and commencement

- 1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the District of North Kesteven (Electoral Changes) Order 2006.
 - (2) This Order comes into force—
 - (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary or relating to any election to be held on the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2007, on 15th October 2006;
 - (b) for all other purposes, on the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2007.

Interpretation

2. In this Order—

"district" means the district of North Kesteven;

"existing", in relation to a ward, means the ward as it exists on the date this Order is made; and "map" means the map marked "Map referred to in the District of North Kesteven (Electoral Changes) Order 2006", of which prints are available for inspection at the principal office of the Electoral Commission; and

any reference to a numbered sheet is a reference to the sheet of the map which bears that number.

Wards of the district of North Kesteven

- **3.**—(1) The existing wards of the district(1) shall be abolished.
- (2) The district shall be divided into twenty-six wards which shall be named as set out in column (1) of the Schedule.
- (3) The wards shall comprise the areas described in column (2) of the Schedule by reference to parishes and parish wards.
- (4) The number of councillors to be elected for each ward shall be the number specified in respect of the ward in column (3) of the Schedule.
- (5) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, watercourse or similar geographical feature, it shall be treated as running along the centre line of the feature.

Wards of the parish of North Hykeham

- **4.**—(1) The existing wards of the parish of North Hykeham shall be abolished.
- (2) The parish shall be divided into five wards which shall be named Forum, Memorial, Mill, Moor and Witham.

- (3) Each ward shall comprise the area designated on sheet 1 by reference to the name of the ward and demarcated by orange lines.
- (4) The number of councillors to be elected for the Mill ward shall be six and for each of the other wards shall be three

Wards of the parish of Sleaford

- **5.**—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Sleaford shall be abolished.
- (2) The parish shall be divided into six wards which shall be named Castle, Holdingham, Mareham, Navigation, Quarrington and Westholme.
- (3) Each ward shall comprise the area designated on sheet 2 by reference to the name of the ward and demarcated by orange lines.
- (4) The number of councillors to be elected for the Quarrington ward shall be four, for each of the Castle, Holdingham, Mareham and Westholme wards shall be three, and for the Navigation ward shall be two.

Wards of the parish of Waddington

- **6.**—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Waddington shall be abolished.
- (2) The parish shall be divided into two wards which shall be named Waddington East and Waddington West.
- (3) Each ward shall comprise the area designated on sheet 1 by reference to the name of the ward and demarcated by orange lines.
- (4) The number of councillors to be elected for the Waddington East ward shall be eight and for the Waddington West ward shall be seven.

Number of parish councillors for the parish of Ashby de la Launde and Bloxham

7. The number of councillors to be elected for the parish of Ashby de la Launde and Bloxham shall be five.

Number of parish councillors for the parish of Temple Bruer with Temple High Grange

8. The number of councillors to be elected for the parish of Temple Bruer with Temple High Grange shall be two.

Map

9. North Kesteven District Council shall make a print of the map available for inspection at its offices by any member of the public at any reasonable time.

Electoral register

10. The registration officer(2) for the district shall make such rearrangement of, or adaptation of, the register of local government electors as may be necessary for the purposes of, and in consequence of, this Order.

⁽²⁾ As to registration officers, and their duties in respect of the register of local government electors, *see* sections 8 to 13 of the Representation of the People Act 1983 (c. 2).

Revocation

11. The District of North Kesteven (Parishes and Electoral Changes) Order 1998(3) is revoked, save for articles 2 and 5.

Sealed with the seal of the Electoral Commission on the 25th day of May 2006

L.S.

25th May 2006 Chairman of the Commission

25th May 2006 Secretary to the Commission