## **EXPLANATORY NOTE**

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order gives effect, with modifications, to recommendations by the Boundary Committee for England, a committee of the Electoral Commission, for electoral changes in the city of Birmingham.

The modifications relate to the names of Acocks Green, Handsworth Wood, Kings Norton, Moseley and Kings Heath, Stechford and Yardley North, and South Yardley wards, the boundary between Aston, and Lozells and East Handsworth wards, and the boundary between Tyburn and Erdington wards.

The changes have effect in relation to local government elections to be held on and after the ordinary day of elections in 2004.

Article 3 abolishes the existing wards of the city and provides for the creation of 40 new wards. That article and the Schedule also make provision for the names and areas of, and numbers of councillors for, the new wards.

Article 4 makes provision for a whole council election in 2004 and for reversion to the established system of election by thirds in subsequent years.

Article 6 obliges the Electoral Registration Officer to make any necessary amendments to the electoral register to reflect the new electoral arrangements.

Article 7 revokes the City of Birmingham (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1980, with the exception of articles 8 and 9(7).

The areas of the new city wards are demarcated on the map described in article 2. Prints of the map may be inspected at all reasonable times at the offices of Birmingham City Council and at the principal office of the Electoral Commission at Trevelyan House, Great Peter Street, London SW1P 2HW.