## **EXPLANATORY NOTE**

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order gives effect, with one modification, to recommendations by the Boundary Committee for England, a committee of the Electoral Commission, for electoral changes in the borough of Telford and Wrekin. The changes have effect in relation to local government elections to be held on and after 1st May 2003.

The modification relates to the amendment of the boundary between Dawley Magna and Malinslee borough wards.

Article 3 abolishes the existing wards of the borough and provides for the creation of 33 new wards. That article and Schedule 1 also make provision for the names and areas of, and numbers of councillors for, the new wards.

Articles 4 to 18 make electoral changes in the parishes of Church Aston, Dawley Hamlets, Great Dawley, Hadley, Ketley, Lawley and Overdale, Lilleshall and Donnington, Madeley, Newport, Oakengates, St Georges and Priorslee, Stirchley and Brookside, The Gorge, Wellington and Wrockwardine Wood and Trench.

Article 20 obliges the Electoral Registration Officer to make any necessary amendments to the electoral register to reflect the new electoral arrangements.

Article 21 revokes the District of The Wrekin (Parishes and Electoral Changes) Order 1997 (S.I.1997/780), with the exception of articles 2, 4 and 11.

The areas of the new borough and parish wards are demarcated on the map described in article 2. Prints of the map may be inspected at all reasonable times at the offices of Telford and Wrekin Council and at the principal office of the Electoral Commission at Trevelyan House, Great Peter Street, London SW1P 2HW.