STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2001 No. 3359

The Borough of North Lincolnshire (Electoral Changes) Order 2001

Citation, commencement and interpretation

- 1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the Borough of North Lincolnshire (Electoral Changes) Order 2001.
 - (2) This Order shall come into force—
 - (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary or relating to any election to be held on 1st May 2003, on 15th October 2002;
 - (b) for all other purposes, on 1st May 2003.
 - (3) In this Order—
 - "borough" means the borough of North Lincolnshire;
 - "existing", in relation to a ward, means the ward as it exists on the date this Order is made;

any reference to the map is a reference to the map prepared by the Department for Transport, Local Government and the Regions marked "Map of the Borough of North Lincolnshire (Electoral Changes) Order 2001", and deposited in accordance with regulation 27 of the Local Government Changes for England Regulations 1994(1); and

any reference to a numbered sheet is a reference to the sheet of the map which bears that number.

Wards of the borough of North Lincolnshire

- **2.**—(1) The existing wards of the borough(**2**) shall be abolished.
- (2) The borough shall be divided into seventeen wards which shall bear the names set out in column (1) of the Schedule.
- (3) The wards shall comprise the areas described in column (2) of the Schedule by reference to parishes or, where an area is not so described, the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the ward and demarcated by red lines; and the number of councillors to be elected for each ward shall be the number specified in respect of the ward in column (3) of that Schedule.
- (4) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, watercourse or similar geographical feature, it shall be treated as running along the centre line of the feature.

Wards of the parish of Burringham

3.—(1) The parish of Burringham shall be divided into two parish wards which shall bear the names Ashby Parkland and Burringham Village; and the wards shall comprise the areas designated on sheet 2 by reference to the name of the ward and demarcated by orange lines.

⁽¹⁾ S.I.1994/867, to which there are amendments not relevant to this Order.

⁽²⁾ See Article 7(3) of the Humberside (Structural Changes) Order 1995 (S.I. 1995/600).

(2) The number of councillors to be elected for the Ashby Parkland parish ward shall be four and for the Burringham Village parish ward shall be six.

Wards of the parish of Keadby with Althorpe

- **4.**—(1) The number of parish councillors to be elected for the parish of Keadby with Althorpe shall be fifteen.
 - (2) The existing wards of the parish of Keadby with Althorpe shall be abolished.

Signed by authority of the Secretary of State for Transport, Local Government and the Regions

Alan Whitehead
Parliamentary Under Secretary of State,
Department for Transport, Local Government
and the Regions

4th October 2001