#### STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

### 1998 No. 3271

## LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND AND WALES

#### WALES

# The City and County of Cardiff (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1998

*Made - - - 15th December 1998* 

Coming into force in accordance with article 1(2)

The Secretary of State for Wales, in exercise of his powers under sections 58(2) and 67(4) and (5) of the Local Government Act 1972(1) and of all other powers enabling him in that behalf, hereby makes the following Order which gives effect to proposals submitted to him in June 1998 under sections 58(1) and 64 of that Act(2) by the Local Government Boundary Commission for Wales:

#### Citation and commencement

- **1.**—(1) This Order may be cited as the City and County of Cardiff (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1998.
- (2) This Order shall come into operation on 6th May 1999 except that for the purposes of all proceedings preliminary or relating to an election to be held on or after that day, it shall come into force immediately.

#### **Electoral divisions**

- 2.—(1) The existing electoral divisions of the City and County of Cardiff shall be abolished and the City and County shall be divided into 29 electoral divisions which shall bear the names set out in column (1) of the Schedule to this Order, and each such electoral division shall comprise the areas specified opposite thereto in column (2) of that Schedule.
- (2) The number of councillors to be returned for each such electoral division shall be the number specified opposite thereto in column (3) of the Schedule to this Order.

<sup>(1) 1972</sup> c. 70. Section 67(5) was amended by section 40(1) and (5) of the Police and Magistrates' Courts Act 1994 (c. 29), article 3(a) of the Local Government Act (References to Aldermen) Order 1997, S.I.1997/1710 and sections 66(5) and (8) of, and Schedule 15, paragraphs 1 and 15, and Schedule 18 to, the Local Government (Wales) Act 1994 (c. 19).

<sup>(2)</sup> Section 58(1) was amended by section 66(5) of, and Schedule 15, paragraphs 1 and 11 to, the Local Government (Wales) Act 1994. Section 64 was substituted by section 6 of that Act of 1994.

#### Register of local government electors

**3.** The registration officer shall make such re-arrangement or adaptation of the register of local government electors as may be necessary on account of the coming into force of this Order.

Signed by authority of the Secretary of State for Wales

Jon Owen Jones
Parliamentary Under Secretary of State, Welsh
Office

15th December 1998

#### SCHEDULE Article 2

# NAMES AND AREAS OF AND NUMBERS OF COUNCILLORS FOR NEW ELECTORAL DIVISIONS

(1) Name of New Electoral Division	(2) Area of New Electoral Division	(3) Number of Councillors
Adamsdown	The Community of Adamsdown	2
Butetown	The Community of Butetown	1
Caerau	The Community of Caerau	2
Canton	The Community of Canton	3
Cathays	The Communities of Castle and Cathays	4
Creigiau/St. Fagans	The Creigiau ward of the Community of Pentyrch and the Community of St. Fagans	1
Cyncoed	The Community of Cyncoed	3
Ely	The Community of Ely	3
Fairwater	The Community of Fairwater	3
Gabalfa	The Community of Gabalfa	2
Grangetown	The Community of Grangetown	3
Heath	The Community of Heath	3
Lisvane	The Community of Lisvane	1
Llandaff	The Community of Llandaff	2
Llandaff North	The Community of Llandaff North	2
Llanishen	The Community of Llanishen	4
Llanrumney	The Community of Llanrumney	3
Pentwyn	The Community of Pentwyn	4
Pentyrch	The Gwaelod-y-Garth and Pentyrch wards of the Community of Pentyrch	1
Penylan	The Community of Roath	3
Plasnewydd	The Community of Plasnewydd	4
Pontprennau/Old St. Mellons	The Communities of Old St. Mellons and Pontprennau	2

(1)	(2)	(3)
Name of New Electoral	Area of New Electoral	Number of Councillors
Division	Division	
Radyr	The Community of Radyr	1
Rhiwbina	The Community of Rhiwbina	3
Riverside	The Community of Riverside	3
Rumney	The Community of Rumney	2
Splott	The Community of Splott	3
Trowbridge	The Community of Trowbridge	3
Whitchurch and Tongwynlais	The Communities of Tongwynlais and Whitchurch	4