

# British Overseas Territories Act 2002

## **2002 CHAPTER 8**

## Supplementary

## 6 The Ilois: citizenship

- (1) A person shall become a British citizen on the commencement of this section if—
  - (a) he was born on or after 26 April 1969 and before 1 January 1983,
  - (b) he was born to a woman who at the time was a citizen of the United Kingdom and Colonies by virtue of her birth in the British Indian Ocean Territory, and
  - (c) immediately before the commencement of this section he was neither a British citizen nor a British overseas territories citizen.
- (2) A person who is a British citizen by virtue of subsection (1) is a British citizen by descent for the purposes of the British Nationality Act 1981 (c. 61).
- (3) A person shall become a British overseas territories citizen on the commencement of this section if—
  - (a) subsection (1)(a) and (b) apply in relation to him, and
  - (b) immediately before the commencement of this section he was not a British overseas territories citizen.
- (4) A person who is a British overseas territories citizen by virtue of subsection (3) is such a citizen by descent for the purposes of the British Nationality Act 1981.

## 7 Repeals

The enactments mentioned in Schedule 2 (which include some which are spent or effectively superseded) are repealed to the extent specified there.

## 8 Short title, commencement and extent

- (1) This Act may be cited as the British Overseas Territories Act 2002.
- (2) The following provisions of this Act are to come into force on such day as the Secretary of State may by order made by statutory instrument appoint—

- (a) sections 3 to 5 and Schedule 1,
- (b) section 6, and
- (c) section 7 and Schedule 2, so far as relating to the British Nationality (Falkland Islands) Act 1983 (c. 6).
- (3) An order under subsection (2) may—
  - (a) appoint different days for different purposes, and
  - (b) include such transitional provision as the Secretary of State considers expedient.
- (4) This Act extends to—
  - (a) the United Kingdom,
  - (b) the Channel Islands and the Isle of Man, and
  - (c) the British overseas territories.