Status: This is the original version (as it was originally enacted).

## SCHEDULES

## SCHEDULE 4

## THE CHURCH BUILDINGS COUNCIL

## Membership

- 1 The Council shall consist of a person who shall be known as the Chair of the Council who shall be appointed by the Archbishops of Canterbury and York after consultation with the Appointments Committee of the Church of England and not more than 23 other members.
- 2 The following members shall be appointed by the Archbishops of Canterbury and York—
  - (a) four members shall be appointed on the nomination of the Secretary of State, who shall include persons who, between them, have special knowledge of or expertise in history, architecture, archaeology and aesthetics;
  - (b) three members of the General Synod shall be appointed on the nomination of the Appointments Committee, who shall have knowledge of or expertise in matters relevant to the Council's work;
  - (c) three other persons having such knowledge or expertise shall be appointed on the nomination of the Council (including the Council for the Care of Churches as constituted immediately before the coming into force of this Schedule);
  - (d) three persons shall be appointed on the nomination of an annual meeting of the Chairmen and Secretaries of the Diocesan Advisory Committees;
  - (e) one person shall be appointed on the nomination of the Cathedrals Fabric Commission for England;
  - (f) one person shall be appointed on the nomination of the Appointments Committee, who shall have expertise in the innovative use of churches and former churches, including their management and development; and
  - (g) three persons shall be appointed on the nomination of the Appointments Committee, which shall have regard to the need to include amongst the members of the Council persons who have expertise in history, architecture, archaeology, archives, art and liturgy.
- 3 Not more than two persons may be co-opted by the Council to reflect such specialist interests, not otherwise represented, as the Council thinks fit.
- 4 Three members shall be elected by the General Synod from among its members, who shall have knowledge of or expertise in matters relevant to the Council's work.
- 5 The following persons shall not be eligible for membership of the Council—
  - (a) for the purposes of paragraphs 1 to 4 above, a member or employee of the Commissioners, or a member of their Assets Committee, their Audit Committee or any other committee of the Commissioners constituted by

the Board of Governors or otherwise established under section 5(4) of the Church Commissioners Measure 1947 (10 & 11 Geo. 6 No. 2) or any joint committee of the Commissioners and the Archbishops' Council appointed under that section or a member or employee of the Churches Conservation Trust, and

- (b) for the purposes of paragraph 2(a) above, the persons referred to in subparagraph (a) above and a member or employee of the Archbishops' Council or a member of the General Synod or of any diocesan body within the meaning of section 56(2) above.
- The Chair of the Council shall hold office for such period as may be determined by the Archbishops of Canterbury and York, not exceeding five years and the Archbishops may determine that the Chair shall hold office for a second term not exceeding five years, and for the purposes of this paragraph the periods for which the Chair may serve shall include any period as Chair of the Council for the Care of Churches served immediately before the coming into force of this Schedule or spanning a period immediately before and immediately after that date.
- 7 Subject to paragraph 8 below, the other members of the Council shall take office on the first day of June immediately following the termination of the period of office of the persons in whose place those persons were appointed or elected and shall hold office until the thirty first day of May following the year in which the General Synod is next dissolved and a new Synod come into being.
- 8 The first appointments and elections of the members of the Council shall take place as soon as practicable after the coming into force of section 54(2) above and—
  - (a) they shall take immediate effect, and
  - (b) the members shall hold office until the date specified in paragraph 7 above, except that if the period which elapses between the coming into force of section 54(2) above and that date is less than three years they shall hold office until the thirty first day of May following the year in which the second subsequent dissolution of the General Synod occurs and the new Synod comes into being following that dissolution.
- 9 A member (other than the Chair) shall on ceasing to hold office be eligible for re-appointment or re-election for a second term not exceeding five years and for the purposes of this paragraph the periods for which the member may serve shall include any period of membership of the Council for the Care of Churches served immediately before the coming into force of this Schedule or spanning a period immediately before and immediately after that date.
- 10 A member of the Council appointed under paragraph 2(b) above or elected by the General Synod under paragraph 4 above shall cease to hold office on ceasing to be a member of the Synod, except that a member who is a member of the General Synod may continue to act as a member of the Council so long as that person is entitled to act during a period of dissolution under paragraph 3(4) of Schedule 2 to the Synodical Government Measure 1969 (1969 No.2) and if, following the dissolution of the Synod, that person is not re-elected to the new Synod the Archbishops of Canterbury and York may, on the recommendation of the Appointments Committee, appoint that person as a member to hold office until the thirty-first day of May following the year in which the new Synod comes into being.

6