

Land Reform (Scotland) Act 2016 2016 asp 18

PART 2

THE SCOTTISH LAND COMMISSION

CHAPTER 1

THE COMMISSION

Establishment

4 The Scottish Land Commission

- (1) The Scottish Land Commission (in Gaelic, Coimisean Fearainn na h-Alba) is established by this section.
- (2) In this Act, it is referred to as "the Commission".
- (3) The Commission is a body corporate.
- (4) The Commission is to consist of the following members—
 - (a) five Land Commissioners, and
 - (b) the Tenant Farming Commissioner.
- (5) The Scottish Ministers may by regulations amend subsection (4)(a) so as to alter the number of Land Commissioners.
- (6) The Commission has the functions conferred by section 6.
- (7) The Land Commissioners have the functions conferred by section 22.
- (8) The Tenant Farming Commissioner has the functions conferred by section 24.

5 Status

(1) The Commission is not a servant or agent of the Crown.

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally enacted).

- (2) It does not enjoy any status, immunity or privilege of the Crown.
- (3) Its property is not property of, or property held on behalf of, the Crown.
- (4) Its members and staff—
 - (a) are not servants or agents of the Crown,
 - (b) have no status, immunity or privilege of the Crown,
 - (c) are not to be regarded as civil servants.