LAND REFORM (SCOTLAND) ACT 2016

EXPLANATORY NOTES

COMMENTARY ON SECTIONS

Part 2 – the Scottish Land Commission

Chapter 1 – the Commission

Establishment

Section 4 – The Scottish Land Commission

- 11. This section establishes the Scottish Land Commission as a body corporate with its own legal personality (subsection (1)). The Scottish Land Commission's Gaelic name (Coimisean Fearainn na h-Alba) has equal legal status. The Commission will consist of a total of six members, comprising five Land Commissioners and the Tenant Farming Commissioner. The Commission will provide staff to support the Land Commissioners and the Tenant Farming Commissioner by virtue of section 6(a).
- 12. Subsection (5) contains a delegated power to allow the Scottish Ministers to make regulations changing the number of Land Commissioners in the future.