Search Legislation

Courts Reform (Scotland) Act 2014

Section 1 – Sheriffdoms, sheriff court districts and sheriff courts

22.Subsections (1) to (3) set out that Scotland is to be divided into sheriffdoms which are to be further divided into sheriff court districts. They take account of the fact that not all sheriffdoms are divided into more than one sheriff court district (Glasgow and Strathkelvin is currently the only sheriffdom that exists as a single sheriff court district) and retain flexibility to cater for the possibility that in the future other sheriffdoms may be undivided. Subsections (4) to (6) provide that, subject to any order under section 2, existing sheriffdoms, sheriff court districts and sheriff court locations will continue as they are following the coming into force of section 1.

Back to top


Print Options


Explanatory Notes

Text created by the Scottish Government to explain what the Act sets out to achieve and to make the Act accessible to readers who are not legally qualified. Explanatory Notes were introduced in 1999 and accompany all Acts of the Scottish Parliament except those which result from Budget Bills.


More Resources

Access essential accompanying documents and information for this legislation item from this tab. Dependent on the legislation item being viewed this may include:

  • the original print PDF of the as enacted version that was used for the print copy
  • lists of changes made by and/or affecting this legislation item
  • confers power and blanket amendment details
  • all formats of all associated documents
  • correction slips
  • links to related legislation and further information resources