

Local Government Boundaries Act (Northern Ireland) 1971

1971 CHAPTER 9

An Act to provide that Northern Ireland shall be divided into twenty-six local government districts and that each of those districts shall be divided into wards; to appoint a Commissioner to make recommendations regarding the boundaries and names of those districts and wards and the number of wards in each district; and for purposes connected therewith.

[23rd March 1971]

- F1 Act repealed (prosp.) by The Local Government (Boundaries) (Northern Ireland) Order 2006 (S.I. 2006/1253 (N.I. 8)), arts. 1(4), 5, Sch. 2
- **F2** Act repealed (prosp.) by Local Government (Boundaries) Act (Northern Ireland) 2008 (c. 7), ss. 3(2), 5(3), **Sch.**

1 Local government districts and wards.

- (1) Northern Ireland shall for the purposes of local government be divided into twenty-six districts to be known as local government districts and shall be so divided that each local government district incorporates the whole or the major part of one of the places specified in Schedule 1.
- (2) Each local government district shall be divided into district electoral divisions to be known as wards.
- (3) The boundaries and names of the local government districts and the number, boundaries and names of the wards into which each of those districts is divided shall be such as are prescribed by an order made under section 4(5).
- (4) Commencement

S.2 rep. by SLR 1976

S.3 rep. by 1975 c.25; SLR 1976

Status: Point in time view as at 01/01/2006.

Changes to legislation: There are currently no known outstanding effects for the Local Government Boundaries Act (Northern Ireland) 1971 (repealed). (See end of Document for details)

4 Implementation of recommendations for new boundaries.

Subs.(1)—(4) rep. by SLR 1976 Subs. (5) rep. by SR 1984/209

(6) The validity of any order purporting to be made under subsection (5) and reciting that a draft thereof has been approved by resolution of each House of Parliament shall not be called in question in any legal proceedings whatever.

Ss.5,6 rep. by SLR 1980

7 Short title, construction and citation.

This Act may be cited as the Local Government (Boundaries) Act (Northern Ireland) 1971 and shall be construed as one with the Local Government Acts (Northern Ireland) 1898 to 1968 and those Acts and this Act may be cited together as the Local Government Acts (Northern Ireland) 1898 to 1971.

Status: Point in time view as at 01/01/2006.

Changes to legislation: There are currently no known outstanding effects for the Local Government Boundaries Act (Northern Ireland) 1971 (repealed). (See end of Document for details)

SCHEDULES

SCHEDULE 1

Section 1(1).

PLACES THE WHOLE OR MAJOR PART OF ONE OF WHICH IS TO BE INCLUDED IN EACH LOCAL GOVERNMENT DISTRICT

1.	Antrim urban district electoral division.
2.	Armagh urban district.
3.	Ballycastle urban district.
4.	Ballymena borough.
5.	Ballymoney urban district.
6.	Banbridge urban district.
7.	Bangor borough.
8.	Belfast county borough.
9.	Carrickfergus borough.
10.	Castlereagh district electoral division.
11.	Coleraine borough.
12.	Cookstown urban district.
13.	Craigavon urban district.
14.	Downpatrick urban district.
15.	Dungannon urban district.
16.	Enniskillen borough.
17.	Larne borough.
18.	Limavady urban district.
19.	Lisburn borough.
20.	Londonderry county borough.
21.	Magherafelt district electoral division.
22.	Newry urban district.
23.	Newtownabbey urban district.
24.	Newtownards borough.
25.	Omagh urban district.
26.	Strabane urban district.

Status: Point in time view as at 01/01/2006.

Changes to legislation: There are currently no known outstanding effects for the Local Government Boundaries Act (Northern Ireland) 1971 (repealed). (See end of Document for details)

Schedules 2,3 rep. by SLR 1976

Status:

Point in time view as at 01/01/2006.

Changes to legislation:

There are currently no known outstanding effects for the Local Government Boundaries Act (Northern Ireland) 1971 (repealed).