WELSH STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2021 No. 1160 (W. 285)

LOCAL GOVERNMENT, WALES

The City and County of Cardiff (Electoral Arrangements) Order 2021

Made - - - 18 October 2021 Coming into force in accordance with article 1(2) and (3)

The Local Democracy and Boundary Commission for Wales(1) has, in accordance with section 36(5) of the Local Government (Democracy) (Wales) Act 2013(2) ("the 2013 Act"), submitted to the Welsh Ministers a report dated November 2020 containing its recommendations for change and the details of its review of the electoral arrangements for the City and County of Cardiff.

The Welsh Ministers have, after consideration of the matters referred to and set out in section 37(2) (a) and (c) of the 2013 Act, decided to give effect to those recommendations with modifications.

In accordance with section 37(3) of the 2013 Act, more than 6 weeks have elapsed since those recommendations were submitted to the Welsh Ministers.

The Welsh Ministers make the following Order in exercise of their powers conferred by section 37(1) of the 2013 Act.

Title, commencement and interpretation

1.—(1) The title of this Order is the City and County of Cardiff (Electoral Arrangements) Order 2021.

(2) For any purpose set out in regulation 4(1) of the Local Government Area Changes Regulations 1976(3), this Order comes into force on the second day after the day on which it is made.

(3) For all other purposes, this Order comes into force on the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2022(4).

The Local Government Boundary Commission for Wales was established by section 53 of, and Schedule 8 to, the Local Government Act 1972 (c. 70) ("the 1972 Act"). Section 53 and Schedule 8 were repealed by section 73(2) of, and Schedule 2 to, the Local Government (Democracy) (Wales) Act 2013 (anaw 4) ("the 2013 Act"). The 2013 Act re-names the Local Government Boundary Commission for Wales as the Local Democracy and Boundary Commission for Wales (see section 2).
(2) 2013 anaw 4.

⁽³⁾ S.I. 1976/246. Section 74(3) of the 2013 Act provides that these Regulations continue to have effect in relation to orders made under Part 3 of the 2013 Act, as if those orders were made under Part 4 of the 1972 Act.

⁽⁴⁾ The Local Authorities (Change to the Years of Ordinary Elections) (Wales) Order 2019 (S.I. 2019/1269 (W. 220)) amends section 26(1) of the 1972 Act to provide that the year in which the ordinary elections of councillors of local authorities shall take place is 2022 instead of 2021.

(4) In this Order—

"electoral ward" ("*ward etholiadol*") means any area for which members are elected to Cardiff County Council;

words and expressions used in this Order have the same meaning as they have in Part 3 of the Local Government (Democracy) (Wales) Act 2013, except so far as a contrary intention appears.

Electoral arrangements for the City and County of Cardiff

2.—(1) The electoral wards of the City and County of Cardiff, as they exist immediately before the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2022, are abolished.

(2) The City and County of Cardiff is divided into 28 electoral wards each bearing the English language name listed in column 1 and the Welsh language name listed in column 2 of the Table in the Schedule to this Order.

(3) Each electoral ward comprises the areas specified in relation to that electoral ward in column 3 of the Table in the Schedule to this Order.

(4) The number of members of the council to be elected for each electoral ward is the number specified in column 4 of the Table in the Schedule to this Order.

(5) The provisions in this Order take precedence over any conflicting provision in any previous statutory instrument made under section 58(2) of the Local Government Act 1972(5).

Rebecca Evans Minister for Finance and Local Government, one of the Welsh Ministers

18 October 2021

^{(5) 1972} c. 70; section 58 of the 1972 Act was repealed by section 73(2) of, and Schedule 2 to, the 2013 Act, subject to savings provisions specified in section 74 of the 2013 Act.

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

SCHEDULE

Article 2

NAMES AND AREAS OF ELECTORAL WARDS AND NUMBER OF MEMBERS OF THE COUNCIL

Table

Column (1)	Column (2)	Column (3)	Column (4)
English language name of electoral ward	Welsh language name of electoral ward	Area of electoral ward	Number of members of the council
Adamsdown	Adamsdown	The community of Adamsdown	2
Butetown	Butetown	The community of Butetown	3
Caerau	Caerau	The community of Caerau	2
Canton	Treganna	The community of Canton	3
Cathays	Cathays	The communities of Cathays and Castle	4
Cyncoed	Cyncoed	The community of Cyncoed	3
Ely	Trelái	The community of Ely	3
Fairwater	Y Tyllgoed	The community of Fairwater	3
Gabalfa	Gabalfa	The community of Gabalfa	2
Grangetown	Grangetown	The community of Grangetown	4
Heath	Y Mynydd Bychan	The community of Heath	3
Lisvane and Thornhill	Llys-faen a'r Ddraenen	The communities of Lisvane and Thornhill	3
Llandaff	Llandaf	The community of Llandaff	2
Llandaff North	Ystum Taf	The community of Llandaff North	2
Llanishen	Llanisien	The community of Llanishen	2
Llanrumney	Llanrhymni	The community of Llanrumney	3

3

Document Generated: 2023-05-10 Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

Column (1)	Column (2)	Column (3)	Column (4)
English language name of electoral ward	Welsh language name of electoral ward	Area of electoral ward	Number of members of the council
Pentwyn	Pentwyn	The communities of Llanedeyrn and Pentwyn	3
Pentyrch and St Fagans	Pentyrch a Sain Ffagan	The communities Pentyrch and St. Fagans	3
Penylan	Pen-y-lan	The community of Penylan	3
Plasnewydd	Plasnewydd	The community of Roath	4
Pontprennau and Old St Mellons	Pontprennau a Phentref Llaneirwg	The communities of Pontprennau and Old St. Mellons	2
Radyr	Radur	The community of Radyr and Morganstown	2
Rhiwbina	Rhiwbeina	The community of Rhiwbina	3
Riverside	Glanyrafon	The communities of Pontcanna and Riverside	3
Rumney	Tredelerch	The community of Rumney	2
Splott	Y Sblot	The communities of Splott and Tremorfa	3
Trowbridge	Trowbridge	The community of Trowbridge	3
Whitchurch and Tongwynlais	Yr Eglwys Newydd a Thongwynlais	The communities of Whitchurch and Tongwynlais	4

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order implements the recommendations of the Local Democracy and Boundary Commission for Wales ("the Commission"), which reported in November 2020 on its review of the electoral arrangements for the City and County of Cardiff. The Commission's Report proposed a reduction in the number of electoral wards from 29 to 28, but an increase in the number of councillors from 75 to 79.

This Order implements the Commission's recommendations, with modifications.

Article 2 of this Order abolishes the existing electoral arrangements for the City and County of Cardiff and introduces the Schedule, which sets out the new electoral arrangements for the City and County of Cardiff.

The Welsh Ministers' Code of Practice on the carrying out of Regulatory Impact Assessments was considered in relation to this Order. As a result, it was not considered necessary to carry out a regulatory impact assessment as to the likely costs and benefits of complying with this Order.