WELSH STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2010 No. 1503

The Blaenau Gwent (Communities) Order 2010

Title and commencement

- 1.—(1) The title of this Order is The Blaenau Gwent (Communities) Order 2010.
- (2) For any purpose set out in regulation 4(1) of the Regulations this Order comes into operation on 1 June 2010.
- (3) For the purposes of calculating any council tax payable in respect of a dwelling in an area which under this Order is transferred from one community to another, the transfer is to be regarded as taking place on 1 April 2011.
- (4) For all other purposes this Order comes into force on 1 December 2010, which is the appointed day for the purposes of the Regulations.

Interpretation

2. In this Order—

"existing" ("presennol"), in relation to a local government or electoral area, means that area as it exists immediately before the appointed day;

"Map A" ("Map A"), "Map B" ("Map B"), "Map C" ("Map C"), "Map D" ("Map D"), "Map E" ("Map E"), "Map F" ("Map F"), "Map G" ("Map G"), "Map H" ("Map H"), "Map I" ("Map I"), "Map I" ("Map

"new" ("newydd"), in relation to a local government or electoral area, means that area as established by this Order;

"the Regulations" ("*y Rheoliadau*") means the Local Government Area Changes Regulations 1976(1);

any reference to a community or an electoral division is a reference to respectively a community or an electoral division of the County Borough of Blaenau Gwent; and

where a boundary shown on a map as running along a road, railway line, footway, watercourse or similar geographical feature it is to be treated as running along the centre line of the feature.

Abertillery and Nantyglo and Blaina – change to community areas and consequential change to electoral division

- 3. The part of the community of Nantyglo and Blaina shown hatched on Map A—
 - (a) is transferred to the community of Abertillery;
 - (b) forms part of the Cwmtillery ward of the community of Abertillery; and
 - (c) forms part of the electoral division of Cwmtillery.

Abolition of Beaufort community and creation of new communities - Badminton, Beaufort and Rassau

- **4.**—(1) The existing community of Beaufort is abolished.
- (2) There are constituted three new communities named Badminton, Beaufort and Rassau.
- (3) The area shown hatched on Map B—
 - (a) is transferred to the new community of Beaufort; and
 - (b) forms part of the electoral division of Beaufort.
- (4) The part of the electoral division of Beaufort shown hatched on Map C forms part of the electoral division of Badminton.
- (5) The part of the electoral division of Badminton shown cross-hatched on Map C forms part of the electoral division of Beaufort.
- (6) The part of the electoral division of Badminton shown hatched on Map D forms part of the electoral division of Rassau.
- (7) The new community of Beaufort, and the electoral division of Beaufort as changed by paragraphs (3), (4) and (5), comprises the area shown hatched on Map E.
- (8) The new community of Badminton, and the electoral division of Badminton as changed by paragraphs (4), (5) and (6), comprises the area shown hatched on Map F.
- (9) The new community of Rassau, and the electoral division of Rassau as changed by paragraph (6), comprises the area shown hatched on Map G.

Brynmawr and Nantyglo and Blaina – change to community boundaries and consequential changes to electoral divisions

- 5.—(1) The part of the community of Brynmawr shown hatched on Map H—
 - (a) is transferred to the community of Nantyglo and Blaina;
 - (b) forms part of the Nantyglo ward of the community of Nantyglo and Blaina; and
 - (c) forms part of the electoral division of Nantyglo.
- (2) The part of the community of Nantyglo and Blaina shown cross-hatched on Map H—
 - (a) is transferred to the community of Brynmawr;
 - (b) forms part of the Brynmawr South ward of the community of Brynmawr; and
 - (c) forms part of the electoral division of Brynmawr.

Abolition of the community of Ebbw Vale and creation of new communities – Ebbw Vale North and Ebbw Vale South

- **6.**—(1) The existing community of Ebbw Vale is abolished.
- (2) There are constituted two new communities named Ebbw Vale North and Ebbw Vale South.
- (3) The area shown hatched on Map I—
 - (a) is transferred to the community of Cwm; and
 - (b) forms part of the electoral division of Cwm.
- (4) The part of the electoral division of Ebbw Vale North shown hatched on Map J forms part of the electoral division of Ebbw Vale South.
- (5) The part of the electoral division of Ebbw Vale South shown cross-hatched on Map J forms part of the electoral division of Ebbw Vale North.

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

- (6) The new community of Ebbw Vale North, and the electoral division of Ebbw Vale North as changed by paragraphs (4) and (5), comprises the area shown hatched on Map K.
- (7) The new community of Ebbw Vale South, and the electoral division of Ebbw Vale South as changed by paragraphs (3), (4) and (5), comprises the area shown hatched on Map L.

Carl Sargeant
Minister for Social Justice and Local
Government, one of the Welsh Ministers

21 May 2010