EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

Schedule 3 to the Road Traffic Act 1991 makes provision for the designation of permitted parking areas and special parking areas. Paragraph 1(1) gives the Welsh Ministers the power to designate the whole or any part of the area of a county council or county borough council in Wales as a permitted parking area following an application by the local authority. Paragraph 2(1) gives a similar power in relation to special parking areas.

This Order is made following an application by the Council of the County Borough of Wrexham ("the local authority") and statutory consultation with the Chief Constable of North Wales Police and the Council on Tribunals.

The effect of this Order is to designate as a permitted parking area and a special parking area the whole of the county borough of Wrexham except the entire length of the A483 within the county borough, including its on and off slip roads, and except also the A5 from its junction with the A483 in a southerly direction to the county boundary with Shropshire and the A5 from its junction with the A483 in a westerly direction to its junction with the B5070 ("the parking area"). Once the Order is in force, parking attendants employed by the local authority (or employed as parking attendants by a person with whom the local authority has made arrangements) are given the power to place penalty charge notices on vehicles contravening parking regulations and may, in appropriate cases, authorise the towing away or immobilisation of vehicles.

By virtue of the Order, penalty charges in the parking area are to be set by the local authority having regard to guidance given by the Welsh Ministers. They are recoverable by the local authority as civil debts. Provision is made for the making of representations to the local authority in the event of the imposition of a penalty charge or the towing away or immobilisation of a vehicle. Adjudication in the event of disputes is to be dealt with by parking adjudicators appointed by a joint committee set up in pursuance of arrangements entered into under section 101(5) of the Local Government Act 1972.