WELSH STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2007 No. 2795 (W.235)

EDUCATION, WALES

The Education (Recognised Bodies) (Wales) Order 2007

Made - - - - 19 September 2007
Coming into force - - 1 October 2007

The Welsh Ministers, in exercise of the powers conferred upon the Secretary of State by section 216(1) of the Education Reform Act 1988(1) and now vested in them(2), make the following Order:

Title, commencement and application

- 1.—(1) The title of this Order is the Education (Recognised Bodies) (Wales) Order 2007 and it comes into force on 1 October 2007.
 - (2) This Order applies to Wales.

Recognised Bodies

2. The bodies that are specified in the Schedule to this Order are designated as bodies that appear to the Welsh Ministers to be recognised bodies.

Revocation

3. The Education (Recognised Bodies) (Wales) Order 2005(**3**) is revoked.

Jane E. Hutt Minister for Children, Education, Lifelong Learning and Skills, one of the Welsh Ministers.

19 September 2007

^{1) 1988} c. 40

⁽²⁾ By virtue of the National Assembly for Wales (Transfer of Functions) Order 1999, (SI 1999/672) and paragraph 30(1) and (2)(a) of Schedule 11 to the Government of Wales Act 2006.

⁽³⁾ S.I. 2005/3287.

SCHEDULE Article 2

University of Aberdeen

University of Abertay Dundee

Aberystwyth University (Prifysgol Aberystwyth)

Anglia Ruskin University

Archbishop of Canterbury, The

University of the Arts, London

Aston University

Bangor University (Prifysgol Bangor)

University of Bath

Bath Spa University

University of Bedfordshire

University of Birmingham

Bishop Grosseteste University College Lincoln

University of Bolton, The

Bournemouth University

BPP College of Professional Studies

University of Bradford

University of Brighton

University of Bristol

Brunel University

University of Buckingham

Buckinghamshire Chilterns University College

University of Cambridge

Canterbury Christ Church University

Cardiff University (Prifysgol Caerdydd)

University of Central England in Birmingham

University of Central Lancashire

University of Chester

University of Chichester

City University

College of Law, The

College of St Mark & St John, Plymouth, The

Coventry University

Cranfield University

University College for the Creative Arts at Canterbury, Epsom, Farnham, Maidstone and

Rochester

University of Cumbria

De Montfort University

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

University of Derby

University of Dundee

University of Durham

University of East Anglia

University of East London

Edge Hill University

University of Edinburgh

University of Essex

University of Exeter

University College Falmouth

University of Glamorgan (Prifysgol Morgannwg)

University of Glasgow

Glasgow Caledonian University

University of Gloucestershire

University of Greenwich

Harper Adams University College

Henley Management College

Heriot-Watt University

University of Hertfordshire

University of Huddersfield

University of Hull

Imperial College of Science, Technology and Medicine (also known as Imperial College, London)

Institute of Education(4)

University of Keele

University of Kent

King's College London

Kingston University

University of Lancaster

University of Leeds

Leeds Metropolitan University

University of Leicester

University of Lincoln

University of Liverpool

Liverpool Hope University

Liverpool John Moores University

University of London

University College London

London Metropolitan University

⁽⁴⁾ The Institute of Education is a constituent college of the University of London

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

London School of Economics and Political Science

London South Bank University

Loughborough University

University of Manchester

Manchester Metropolitan University, The

Middlesex University

Napier University

University of Newcastle upon Tyne

Newman College of Higher Education, Birmingham

University of Northampton, The

University of Northumbria at Newcastle

University of Nottingham

Nottingham Trent University

Open University

University of Oxford

Oxford Brookes University

University of Paisley

University of Plymouth

University of Portsmouth

Queen Margaret University, Edinburgh

Queen's University of Belfast, The

University of Reading

Robert Gordon University, The

Roehampton University

Royal Agricultural College

Royal College of Art

Royal College of Music

Royal Northern College of Music

Royal Scottish Academy of Music and Drama, The

University of Salford

University of Sheffield

Sheffield Hallam University

University of Southampton

Southampton Solent University

University of St Andrews

St Mary's University College

Staffordshire University

University of Stirling

University of Strathclyde

University of Sunderland

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

University of Surrey

University of Sussex

Swansea University (Prifysgol Abertawe)

University of Teesside

Thames Valley University

University of Ulster

University of Wales (Prifysgol Cymru)

University of Wales Institute Cardiff (Athrofa Prifysgol Cymru Caerdydd)

University of Wales, Lampeter (Prifysgol Cymru, Llanbedr Pont Steffan)

University of Wales, Newport (Prifysgol Cymru, Casnewydd)

University of Warwick

University of the West of England, Bristol

University of Westminster

University of Winchester

University of Wolverhampton

University of Worcester

University of York

York St John University

Schools, Colleges and Institutes of the University of London permitted by the University to award University of London degrees

Birkbeck College

Central School of Speech and Drama, The

Courtauld Institute of Art

Goldsmiths College

Heythrop College

Institute of Cancer Research

London Business School

London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine

Queen Mary and Westfield College, (also known as Queen Mary, University of London)

Royal Academy of Music

Royal Holloway and Bedford New College (also known as Royal Holloway, University of London)

Royal Veterinary College

School of Oriental and African Studies

School of Pharmacy

St George's Hospital Medical School

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order lists all those bodies that appear to the Welsh Ministers to be recognised bodies within the meaning of section 214(2)(a) or (b) of the Education Reform Act 1988. These are universities, colleges, or other bodies which are authorised by Royal Charter or by or under Act of Parliament to grant degrees and other bodies for the time being permitted by those bodies to act on their behalf in the granting of degrees. An award granted by such a body is not an award of a kind referred to in section 214(1) which makes it an offence to grant, offer to grant, or issue any invitation relating to certain unrecognised degrees and awards.

This Order updates and replaces the list of bodies contained in the Education (Recognised Bodies) (Wales) Order 2005 (S.I.2005/3287), which is revoked. It includes a number of institutions which have been authorised to award degrees under section 76 of the Further and Higher Education Act 1992 (c. 13) and section 48 of the Further and Higher Education (Scotland) Act 1992 (c. 37). It also includes a number of schools, colleges and institutes of the University of London which have been permitted by the University to award University of London degrees.