WELSH STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2005 No. 3287 (W.250)

EDUCATION, WALES

The Education (Recognised Bodies) (Wales) Order 2005

Made - - - - 29 November 2005

Coming into force - - 1 December 2005

In exercise of the powers conferred on the Secretary of State by section 216(1) of the Education Reform Act 1988(1) and now vested in the National Assembly for Wales, the National Assembly for Wales hereby makes the following Order:

Title, commencement and application

- 1.—(1) The title of this Order is the Education (Recognised Bodies) (Wales) Order 2005 and it comes into force on 1 December 2005.
 - (2) This Order applies to Wales.

Recognised Bodies

2. The bodies that are specified in the Schedule to this Order are designated as bodies that appear to the National Assembly for Wales to be recognised bodies.

Revocation

3. The Education (Recognised Bodies) (Wales) Order 2003(2) is revoked.

Signed on behalf of the National Assembly for Wales under section 66(1) of the Government of Wales Act 1998(3).

29 November 2005

D. Elis-Thomas
The Presiding Officer of the National Assembly

^{(1) 1988} c. 40

⁽²⁾ S.I.2003/3124.

^{(3) 1998} c. 38.

Article 2

SCHEDULE

University of Aberdeen

University of Abertay Dundee

Anglia Ruskin University

The Archbishop of Canterbury

University of the Arts, London

Aston University

University of Bath

Bath Spa University

University of Birmingham

The University of Bolton

Bournemouth University

University of Bradford

University of Brighton

University of Bristol

Brunel University

University of Buckingham

Buckinghamshire Chilterns University College

University of Cambridge

Canterbury Christ Church University

Cardiff University (Prifysgol Caerdydd)

University of Central England in Birmingham

University of Central Lancashire

University of Chester

University of Chichester

City University

Coventry University

Cranfield University

University College for the Creative Arts at Canterbury, Epsom, Farnham, Maidstone and Rochester

De Montfort University

University of Derby

University of Dundee

University of Durham

University of East Anglia

University of East London

Edge Hill College of Higher Education

University of Edinburgh

University of Essex

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

University of Exeter

University College Falmouth

University of Glamorgan (Prifysgol Morgannwg)

University of Glasgow

Glasgow Caledonian University

University of Greenwich

University of Gloucestershire

Harper Adams University College

Henley Management College

Heriot-Watt University

University of Hertfordshire

University of Huddersfield

University of Hull

University of Keele

University of Kent

Kingston University

University of Lancaster

University of Leeds

Leeds Metropolitan University

University of Leicester

University of Lincoln

University of Liverpool

Liverpool Hope University

Liverpool John Moores University

University of London

London Metropolitan University

London South Bank University

Loughborough University

University of Luton

University of Manchester

The Manchester Metropolitan University

Middlesex University

Napier University, Edinburgh

University of Newcastle upon Tyne

The University of Northampton

University of Northumbria at Newcastle

University of Nottingham

Nottingham Trent University

Open University

University of Oxford

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

Oxford Brookes University

University of Paisley

University of Plymouth

University of Portsmouth

Queen Margaret University College, Edinburgh

The Queen's University of Belfast

University of Reading

The Robert Gordon University

Roehampton University

Royal Agricultural College

Royal College of Art

Royal College of Music

The Royal Scottish Academy of Music and Drama, Glasgow

University of Salford

University of Sheffield

Sheffield Hallam University

University of Southampton

Southampton Solent University

University of St Andrews

Staffordshire University

University of Stirling

University of Strathclyde

University of Sunderland

University of Surrey

University of Sussex

University of Teeside

Thames Valley University

University of Ulster

University of Wales (Prifysgol Cymru)

University of Warwick

University of the West of England, Bristol

University of Westminster

University of Winchester

University of Wolverhampton

University of Worcester

University of York

York St John College

Schools, Colleges and Institutes of the University of London permitted by the University to award University of London degrees

Birkbeck College

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

The Central School of Speech and Drama

Courtauld Institute of Art

Goldsmiths College

Heythrop College

Imperial College of Science, Technology and Medicine (also known as Imperial College, London)*

Institute of Education

King's College London

London Business School*

London School of Economics and Political Science*

London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine

Queen Mary and Westfield College, (also known as Queen Mary, University of London)

Royal Academy of Music

Royal Holloway and Bedford New College (also known as Royal Holloway, University of London)

Royal Veterinary College

School of Oriental and African Studies

School of Pharmacy

St George's Hospital Medical School

University College London*

*Also have their own degree awarding powers

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order lists all those bodies that appear to the National Assembly for Wales to be recognised bodies within section 214(2)(a) or (b) of the Education Reform Act 1988. These are universities, colleges or other bodies which are authorised by Royal Charter or by or under Act of Parliament to grant degrees and other bodies for the time being permitted by those bodies to act on their behalf in the granting of degrees. An award granted by such a body is not an award of a kind referred to in section 214(1) which makes it an offence to grant, offer to grant, or issue any invitation relating to certain unrecognised degrees and awards.

This Order updates and replaces the list of bodies contained in the Education (Recognised Bodies) (Wales) Order 2003. It includes a number of institutions which have been authorised to award degrees under section 76 of the Further and Higher Education Act 1992 (c. 13), and section 48 of the Further and Higher Education (Scotland) Act (c.37). It also includes a number of schools, colleges and institutes of London University which have been permitted by the University to award University of London degrees.

Document Generated: 2023-04-25

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.