### WELSH STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

# 2002 No. 3274

# The County of Gwynedd (Electoral Changes) Order 2002

# Name, commencement and interpretation

- 1.—(1) This Order is called the County of Gwynedd (Electoral Changes) Order 2002.
- (2) This Order will come into force—
  - (a) for the purposes of proceedings, preliminary or relating to any election to be held on the 6th May 2004, on the 9th October 2003, and
  - (b) for all other purposes, on 6th May 2004.
- (3) In this Order—

"the Act" ("y Ddeddf") means the Local Government Act 1972;

"electoral division" ("adran etholiadol") means an electoral division of the County of Gwynedd constituted by the County of Caernarfonshire and Merionethshire Electoral Arrangements Order 1994(1);

## **Electoral Divisions**

- **2.**—(1) The existing electoral divisions of the County of Gwynedd specified in the Schedule to the County of Gwynedd Electoral Arrangements Order 1994 are abolished.
- (2) For the purposes of the elections of councillors for the County of Gwynedd, that County shall be divided into 71 electoral divisions bearing the names specified in column (1) of the Schedule to this order, and each such electoral division shall comprise the area specified in column (2) of that Schedule.
- (3) The number of councillors to be returned for each such electoral division shall be the number specified in relation to the division in column (3) of the Schedule to this order.

### **Register of Local Government Electors**

**3.** The registration officer shall make such re-arrangements or adaptation of the register of local government electors as may be necessary due to the coming into force of this order.

<sup>(1)</sup> The name of the County has been changed from Caernarfonshire and Merionethshire to Gwynedd in accordance with section 74 of the Local Government Act 1972. This Order was made on the 19th December 1994 by the Secretary of State for the Home Department.

**Status:** This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

Signed on behalf of the National Assembly for Wales

E. Hart
Minister for Local Government, Finance and
Communities

6th December 2002