STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2024 No. 304

CORONERS, ENGLAND AND WALES

The Coroners and Justice Act 2009 (Alteration of Coroner Areas) Order 2024

Made - - - - 1st March 2024
Laid before Parliament 8th March 2024
Coming into force - - 1st April 2024

The Lord Chancellor, in exercise of the powers conferred by paragraph 2 of Schedule 2 to the Coroners and Justice Act 2009(1), and after consulting in accordance with that paragraph, makes the following Order.

Citation and commencement

1. This Order may be cited as the Coroners and Justice Act 2009 (Alteration of Coroner Areas) Order 2024 and comes into force on 1st April 2024.

Interpretation

2. In this Order—

"coroner area" means a coroner area specified in any of the following—

- (a) the Coroners and Justice Act 2009 (Coroner Areas and Assistant Coroners) Transitional Order 2013(2);
- (b) the Coroners and Justice Act 2009 (Alteration of Coroner Areas) Order 2013(3);
- (c) the Coroners and Justice Act 2009 (Alteration of Coroner Areas) Order 2017(4);

"new coroner area" means the new coroner area resulting from the combining of the coroner areas set out in each of paragraphs (1), (2) and (3) of article 3.

^{(1) 2009} c. 25.

⁽²⁾ S.I. 2013/1625.

⁽³⁾ S.I. 2013/1626.

⁽⁴⁾ S.I. 2017/728.

New coroner areas

- **3.**—(1) The following coroner areas are combined to create the new coroner area of Greater Lincolnshire—
 - (a) North Lincolnshire and Grimsby; and
 - (b) Lincolnshire.
- (2) The following coroner areas are combined to create the new coroner area of County of Devon, Plymouth and Torbay—
 - (a) Exeter and Greater Devon; and
 - (b) Plymouth, Torbay and South Devon.
- (3) The following coroner areas are combined to create the new coroner area of Northumberland—
 - (a) North Northumberland; and
 - (b) South Northumberland.

Mike Freer
Parliamentary Under Secretary of State
Ministry of Justice

1st March 2024

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

Schedule 2 to the Coroners and Justice Act 2009 (c. 25) divided England and Wales into coroner areas. It established that the Lord Chancellor may, by order, both specify and alter these. Subsequently, the Coroners and Justice Act 2009 (Coroner Areas and Assistant Coroners) Transitional Order 2013 (S.I. 2013/1625), which came into force on 25th July 2013, established that certain "coroner's districts" - as constituted under the Coroners Act 1988 (c. 13) - were to be specified as coroner areas.

This Order creates three new coroner areas: Greater Lincolnshire, County of Devon, Plymouth and Torbay and Northumberland. The Greater Lincolnshire coroner area is created by combining the North Lincolnshire and Grimsby coroner area with the Lincolnshire coroner area. The County of Devon, Plymouth and Torbay coroner area is created by combining the Exeter and Greater Devon coroner area with the Plymouth, Torbay and South Devon coroner area. The Northumberland coroner area is created by combining the North Northumberland coroner area with the South Northumberland coroner area.

A full impact assessment has not been produced for this instrument as no, or no significant, impact on the private, voluntary or public sectors is foreseen.