### STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

# 2020 No. 806

The Barnsley, Doncaster, Rotherham and Sheffield Combined Authority (Functions and Amendment) Order 2020

## PART 1

#### General

#### Citation and commencement

**1.** This Order may be cited as the Barnsley, Doncaster, Rotherham and Sheffield Combined Authority (Functions and Amendment) Order 2020 and comes into force on the day after the day on which it is made.

#### Interpretation

2. In this Order—

"the 1989 Act" means the Local Government and Housing Act 1989(1);

"the 1999 Act" means the Greater London Authority Act 1999(2);

"the 2003 Act" means the Local Government Act 2003(3);

"the 2008 Act" means the Housing and Regeneration Act 2008(4);

"the 2009 Act" means the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009;

"the 2011 Act" means the Localism Act 2011(5);

"the 2014 Order" means the Barnsley, Doncaster, Rotherham and Sheffield Combined Authority Order 2014(6);

"adult detention" has the meaning given by section 121(4) of the Apprenticeships, Skills, Children and Learning Act 2009(7);

"Area" means the area consisting of the areas of the constituent councils;

"the Combined Authority" means the Barnsley, Doncaster, Rotherham and Sheffield Combined Authority;

<sup>(1) 1989</sup> c. 42.

<sup>(2) 1999</sup> c. 29.
(3) 2003 c. 26.

 $<sup>\</sup>begin{array}{c} \textbf{(3)} & 2003 \text{ c. } 20. \\ \textbf{(4)} & 2008 \text{ c. } 17. \end{array}$ 

<sup>(5) 2011</sup> c. 20.

<sup>(6)</sup> S.I. 2014/863.

<sup>(7) 2009</sup> c. 22. Section 121 was amended by paragraph 30 of Schedule 1 to the Technical and Further Education Act 2017 (c. 19); paragraph 22 of Part 2 of Schedule 1, and paragraph 27 of Part 1 of Schedule 14, to the Deregulation Act 2015 (c. 20); and by paragraph 8 of Schedule 18 to the Education Act 2011 (c. 21).

"Corporation" means a corporation established by the Secretary of State in accordance with the provisions in section 198 of the 2011 Act, as modified by Schedule 3, following the designation of an area of land by the Combined Authority;

"constituent councils" means the councils for the local government areas of Barnsley, Doncaster, Rotherham and Sheffield; and

"Mayor" means the mayor for the Area, except in the term "Mayor of London".