STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2020 No. 1360

PUBLIC HEALTH, ENGLAND TRANSPORT

The Health Protection (Coronavirus, International Travel) (England) (Amendment) (No. 27) Regulations 2020

Made - - - - 26th November 2020

Laid before Parliament 27th November 2020
at 4.00 a.m. on 28th

Coming into force - - November 2020

The Secretary of State makes the following Regulations in exercise of the powers conferred by sections 45B, 45F(2) and 45P(2) of the Public Health (Control of Disease) Act 1984(1).

Citation, commencement and interpretation

- 1.—(1) These Regulations may be cited as the Health Protection (Coronavirus, International Travel) (England) (Amendment) (No. 27) Regulations 2020 and come into force at 4.00 a.m. on 28th November 2020.
- (2) In these Regulations, "the International Travel Regulations" means the Health Protection (Coronavirus, International Travel) (England) Regulations 2020(2).

Amendments to the International Travel Regulations

- 2.—(1) The International Travel Regulations are amended as follows.
- (2) In regulation 3, omit paragraph (10A).
- (3) In regulation 4—
 - (a) in paragraph (1)—
 - (i) in sub-paragraph (b), for ", or" substitute ".";
 - (ii) omit sub-paragraph (c);
 - (b) in paragraph (3)—
 - (i) in sub-paragraph (a), for ", (c) or (d)" substitute "or (c)";

^{(1) 1984} c. 22. Part 2A was inserted by section 129 of the Health and Social Care Act 2008 (c. 14).

⁽²⁾ S.I. 2020/568, amended by S.I. 2020/691, 724, 799, 805, 813, 819, 841, 866, 890, 913, 959, 980, 1013, 1039, 1070, 1076, 1094, 1129, 1161, 1190, 1227, 1238, 1277, 1292, 1323 and 1337.

- (ii) omit sub-paragraph (d);
- (c) omit paragraphs (7A), (14), (15) and (16).
- (4) In Part 1 of Schedule A1 (exempt countries and territories)—
 - (a) insert entries for "Aruba", "Bhutan", "Kiribati", "Mongolia", "Federated States of Micronesia", "Samoa", "Solomon Islands", "Timor-Leste", "Tonga" and "Vanuatu" at the appropriate places;
 - (b) omit the entries for "Estonia" and "Latvia".

Revocation of the Health Protection (Coronavirus, Travel from Denmark) (England) Regulations 2020

3. The Health Protection (Coronavirus, Travel from Denmark) (England) Regulations 2020(**3**) are revoked.

Transition and saving provision

- **4.** In relation to any person—
 - (a) who arrived in England on or after 10th July 2020 but before 4.00 a.m. on 28th November 2020, the International Travel Regulations apply as if the amendments made by regulation 2 had not been made;
 - (b) to whom regulation 4 of the International Travel Regulations applied by virtue of paragraph (1)(c) of that regulation immediately before the coming into force of these Regulations, the International Travel Regulations apply as if the amendments made by regulation 2 had not been made.

Grant Shapps
Secretary of State
Department for Transport

26th November 2020

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Regulations)

These Regulations amend the Health Protection (Coronavirus, International Travel) (England) Regulations 2020 (S.I. 2020/568) ("the International Travel Regulations") to add Aruba, Bhutan, Kiribati, Mongolia, the Federated States of Micronesia, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Timor-Leste, Tonga and Vanuatu to the list of exempt countries and territories at Schedule A1, from which passengers arriving in England are not required to self-isolate. Estonia and Latvia are also removed from the list.

These Regulations also revoke the Health Protection (Coronavirus, Travel from Denmark) (England) Regulations 2020 (S.I. 2020/1277), which placed restrictions on travel to the UK from Denmark and remove additional amendments made to the International Travel Regulations which accompanied those restrictions.

Passengers are not required to self-isolate on arrival in England if, during the 14 days preceding their arrival, they have only been in or transited through exempt countries or territories, or exempt parts of countries or territories. Passengers who have been in or transited through a non-exempt country or territory, or a non-exempt part of a country or territory, must self-isolate until 14 days have elapsed since the day after they last left a non-exempt country or territory, or a non-exempt part of a country or territory. The changes to Schedule A1 will not affect passengers who arrive in England before 4.00 a.m. on 28th November 2020.

An impact assessment has not been produced for this instrument. An explanatory memorandum has been published alongside this instrument at www.legislation.gov.uk.