STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2018 No. 648

The Bournemouth, Dorset and Poole (Structural Changes) Order 2018

PART 3

ESTABLISHMENT OF SINGLE TIER LOCAL GOVERNMENT IN DORSET

Single tier local government in Dorset

7.—(1) A new non-metropolitan county and a new non-metropolitan district, each to be known as Dorset, are constituted comprising (in each case) the areas of the districts of East Dorset, North Dorset, Purbeck, West Dorset and the borough of Weymouth and Portland.

(2) In relation to Dorset section 2(1) of the 1972 Act (which provides that every county shall have a council) does not apply.

(3) A new district council, to be known as Dorset Council, is established as the sole principal authority for the non-metropolitan district of Dorset.

(4) Except for the purposes of Part 7 of this Order (electoral matters: Dorset), until 1st April 2019-

- (a) Dorset Council is not a local authority for the purposes of the 1972 Act or for any other enactment relating to local government; and
- (b) subsection (2) of section 2 of the 1972 Act (constitution of principal councils in England) has effect in relation to that council, as if the words from "and the council" to the end of that subsection were omitted.

County of Dorset, Dorset County Council and councillors of that Council

8.—(1) On 1st April 2019—

- (a) the county of Dorset is abolished as a local government area; and
- (b) the County Council is wound up and dissolved.

(2) The term of office of persons serving as councillors of the County Council immediately before 1st April 2019 ends on that date.

(3) Nothing in section 89 of the 1972 Act (filling of casual vacancies in case of councillors) authorises the holding of an election to fill a casual vacancy in the office of councillor of the County Council where that vacancy arises after 30th September 2018 and before 1st April 2019.

Abolition of districts and winding up of district councils

- 9.—(1) On 1st April 2019—
 - (a) the East Dorset, North Dorset, Purbeck and West Dorset districts and the borough of Weymouth and Portland are abolished as local government areas; and

(b) the East Dorset, North Dorset, Purbeck, West Dorset District Councils and the Weymouth and Portland Borough Council ("the District Councils") are wound up and dissolved.

(2) The term of office of persons serving as councillors of the District Councils immediately before 1st April 2019 ends on that date.

(3) Nothing in section 89 of the 1972 Act (filling of casual vacancies in case of councillors) authorises the holding of an election to fill a casual vacancy in the office of councillor of any of the District Councils where that vacancy arises after 30th September 2018 and before 1st April 2019.