#### STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

## 2018 No. 648

# The Bournemouth, Dorset and Poole (Structural Changes) Order 2018

#### PART 3

### ESTABLISHMENT OF SINGLE TIER LOCAL GOVERNMENT IN DORSET

#### Single tier local government in Dorset

- 7.—(1) A new non-metropolitan county and a new non-metropolitan district, each to be known as Dorset, are constituted comprising (in each case) the areas of the districts of East Dorset, North Dorset, Purbeck, West Dorset and the borough of Weymouth and Portland.
- (2) In relation to Dorset section 2(1) of the 1972 Act (which provides that every county shall have a council) does not apply.
- (3) A new district council, to be known as Dorset Council, is established as the sole principal authority for the non-metropolitan district of Dorset.
- (4) Except for the purposes of Part 7 of this Order (electoral matters: Dorset), until 1st April 2019—
  - (a) Dorset Council is not a local authority for the purposes of the 1972 Act or for any other enactment relating to local government; and
  - (b) subsection (2) of section 2 of the 1972 Act (constitution of principal councils in England) has effect in relation to that council, as if the words from "and the council" to the end of that subsection were omitted.