STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2018 No. 534

The South Gloucestershire (Electoral Changes) Order 2018

Citation and commencement

- 1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the South Gloucestershire (Electoral Changes) Order 2018.
- (2) This article and article 2 come into force on the day after the day on which this Order is made.
- (3) Articles 3 and 4 come into force—
 - (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary, or relating, to the election of councillors, on the day after the day on which this Order is made;
 - (b) for all other purposes, on the ordinary day of election of councillors(1) in 2019.

Interpretation

- **2.**—(1) In this Order "the map" means the map marked "Map referred to in the South Gloucestershire (Electoral Changes) Order 2018", held by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England(2).
- (2) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, watercourse or similar geographical feature, it is to be treated as running along the centre line of the feature.

Wards of the district of South Gloucestershire and number of councillors

- **3.**—(1) The existing wards of the district of South Gloucestershire are abolished.
- (2) The district of South Gloucestershire is divided into 28 wards as listed in the first column of the table in Schedule 1.
 - (3) Each ward comprises the area identified on the map by reference to the name of the ward.
- (4) The number of councillors to be elected for each ward is the number specified in relation to that ward in the second column of the table in Schedule 1.

Wards of the parishes of Almondsbury, Bradley Stoke, Downend & Bromley Heath, Hanham Abbots, Oldland, Patchway, Siston, Stoke Gifford, Westerleigh, Winterbourne and Yate

4.—(1) The existing wards of the parishes of Almondsbury, Bradley Stoke, Downend & Bromley Heath, Hanham Abbots, Oldland, Patchway, Siston, Stoke Gifford, Westerleigh, Winterbourne and Yate are abolished.

⁽¹⁾ The ordinary day of election of councillors in England and Wales is prescribed by section 37(1) of the Representation of the People Act 1983 (c.2) as amended by section 18(2) of the Representation of the People Act 1985 (c.50) and by paragraph 5 of Schedule 3 to the Greater London Authority Act 1999 (c.29) and as prospectively amended by section 6(16) of the Wales Act 2017 (c.4).

⁽²⁾ Prints of the map are available for inspection at reasonable times at the principal office of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England, 14th floor, Millbank Tower, London SW1P 4QP. It is also accessible online at https://www.lgbce.org.uk/current-reviews/south-west/gloucestershire/south-gloucestershire

- (2) The parish of Almondsbury is divided into the three parish wards listed in the first column of table 1 in Schedule 2.
- (3) The parish of Bradley Stoke is divided into the three parish wards listed in the first column of table 2 in Schedule 2.
- (4) The parish of Downend & Bromley Heath is divided into the two parish wards listed in the first column of table 3 in Schedule 2.
- (5) The parish of Hanham Abbots is divided into the two parish wards listed in the first column of table 4 in Schedule 2.
- (6) The parish of Oldland is divided into the three parish wards listed in the first column of table 5 in Schedule 2.
- (7) The parish of Patchway is divided into the two parish wards listed in the first column of table 6 in Schedule 2.
- (8) The parish of Siston is divided into the three parish wards listed in the first column of table 7 in Schedule 2.
- (9) The parish of Stoke Gifford is divided into the two parish wards listed in the first column of table 8 in Schedule 2.
- (10) The parish of Westerleigh is divided into the two parish wards listed in the first column of table 9 in Schedule 2.
- (11) The parish of Winterbourne is divided into the two parish wards listed in the first column of table 10 in Schedule 2.
- (12) The parish of Yate is divided into the three parish wards listed in the first column of table 11 in Schedule 2.
- (13) Each parish ward comprises the area identified on the map by reference to the name of the parish ward.
- (14) The number of councillors to be elected for each parish ward is the number specified in relation to that ward in the second column of the relevant table in Schedule 2.

Sealed with the seal of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England



Jolyon Jackson Chief Executive Local Government Boundary Commission for England

26th April 2018