#### STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

# 2018 No. 327

# LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND

The Rotherham (Electoral Changes) Order 2018

Made - - - 8th March 2018 Coming into force in accordance with article 1(2) and (3)

Under section 58(4) of the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009(1) ("the Act") the Local Government Boundary Commission for England(2) ("the Commission") published a report dated October 2017 stating its recommendations for changes to the electoral arrangements for the borough of Rotherham. The Commission has decided to give effect to the recommendations.

A draft of the instrument has been laid before Parliament and a period of forty days has expired since the day on which it was laid and neither House has resolved that the instrument be not made.

The Commission makes the following Order in exercise of the power conferred by section 59(1) of the Act.

### Citation, commencement and application

- 1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the Rotherham (Electoral Changes) Order 2018.
- (2) This article and article 2 come into force on the day after the day on which this Order is made.
- (3) Articles 3 and 4 come into force—
  - (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary or relating to the election of councillors, on 1st October 2019;
  - (b) for all other purposes, on the ordinary day of election of councillors(3) in 2020(4).

<sup>(1) 2009</sup> c. 20.

<sup>(2)</sup> The Local Government Boundary Commission for England was established on 1st April 2010 by section 55(1) of the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009.

<sup>(3)</sup> The ordinary day of election of councillors in England and Wales is prescribed by section 37 of the Representation of the People Act 1983 (c. 2), as amended by section 18(2) of the Representation of the People Act 1985 (c. 50).

<sup>(4)</sup> See S.I. 2015/884 which established the existing four-yearly cycle of whole council elections for the borough of Rotherham, and made similar provision in respect of all parishes within the borough.

### Interpretation

- **2.**—(1) In this Order, "the map" means the map marked "Map referred to in the Rotherham (Electoral Changes) Order 2018", held by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England(5).
- (2) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, watercourse or similar geographical feature, it is to be treated as running along the centre line of the feature

### Wards of the borough of Rotherham and number of councillors

- **3.**—(1) The existing wards of the borough of Rotherham are abolished.
- (2) The borough of Rotherham is divided into 25 wards as listed in the first column of the table in Schedule 1.
  - (3) Each ward comprises the area identified on the map by reference to the name of the ward.
- (4) The number of councillors to be elected for each ward is the number specified in relation to that ward in the second column of the table in Schedule 1.

# Wards of the parishes of Aston cum Aughton, Bramley, Dalton, Dinnington St John's, Maltby, Orgreave and Wickersley

- **4.**—(1) The existing wards of the parishes of Aston cum Aughton, Bramley, Dalton, Dinnington St John's, Maltby, Orgreave and Wickersley are abolished.
- (2) The parish of Aston cum Aughton is divided into the three parish wards listed in the first column of table 1 in Schedule 2.
- (3) The parish of Bramley is divided into the three parish wards listed in the first column of table 2 in Schedule 2.
- (4) The parish of Dalton is divided into the three parish wards listed in the first column of table 3 in Schedule 2.
- (5) The parish of Dinnington St John's is divided into the two parish wards listed in the first column of table 4 in Schedule 2.
- (6) The parish of Maltby is divided into the two parish wards listed in the first column of table 5 in Schedule 2.
- (7) The parish of Orgreave is divided into the two parish wards listed in the first column of table 6 in Schedule 2.
- (8) The parish of Wickersley is divided into the two parish wards listed in the first column of table 7 in Schedule 2.
- (9) Each parish ward comprises the area identified on the map by reference to the name of the parish ward.
- (10) The number of councillors to be elected for each parish ward is the number specified in relation to that ward in the second column of the relevant table in Schedule 2.

<sup>(5)</sup> Prints of the map are available for inspection at reasonable times at the principal office of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England, 14th floor, Millbank Tower, London, SW1P 4QP. It is also accessible online at https:// www.lgbce.org.uk/current-reviews/yorkshire-and-the-humber/south-yorkshire/rotherham

Sealed with the seal of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England



Jolyon Jackson Chief Executive Local Government Boundary Commission for England

8th March 2018

SCHEDULE 1 Article 3

Names of wards and number of councillors

(1)	(2)
Name of borough ward	Number of councillors
Anston & Woodsetts	3
Aston & Todwick	2
Aughton & Swallownest	2
Boston Castle	3
Bramley & Ravenfield	2
Brinsworth	2
Dalton & Thrybergh	2
Dinnington	3
Greasbrough	2
Hellaby & Maltby West	2
Hoober	3
Keppel	3
Kilnhurst & Swinton East	2
Maltby East	2
Rawmarsh East	2
Rawmarsh West	2
Rother Vale	2
Rotherham East	3
Rotherham West	3
Sitwell	3
Swinton Rockingham	2
Thurcroft & Wickersley South	2
Wales	2
Wath	2
Wickersley North	3

### SCHEDULE 2 Article 4

## Names of parish wards and number of councillors

Table 1
Wards of the parish of Aston cum Aughton

(1)	(2)	
Name of parish ward	Number of councillors	
Aston cum Aughton North	5	
Aston cum Aughton South	7	
Aston cum Aughton West	3	

Table 2
Wards of the parish of Bramley

(1)	(2)	
Name of parish ward	Number of councillors	
Bramley North	3	
Bramley South	3	
Bramley West	1	

Table 3
Wards of the parish of Dalton

(1)	(2)
Name of parish ward	Number of councillors
Dalton East	9
Dalton North	5
Dalton South	2

Table 4
Wards of the parish of Dinnington St John's

(1)	(2)
Name of parish ward	Number of Councillors
Dinnington Park Avenue	1
Dinnington Town	14

Table 5
Wards of the parish of Maltby

(1)	(2)
Name of parish ward	Number of councillors
Maltby East	10
Maltby West	8

Table 6

### Wards of the parish of Orgreave

(1)	(2)
Name of parish ward	Number of councillors
Orgreave	2
Waverley	5

Table 7

### Wards of the parish of Wickersley

(1)	(2)	
Name of parish ward	Number of councillors	
Wickersley North	9	
Wickersley South	7	

### **EXPLANATORY NOTE**

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order makes changes to electoral arrangements for the borough of Rotherham following recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England. The area of the borough of Rotherham remains unchanged. The changes made by this Order apply in respect of local government elections held on and after the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2020.

Article 3 abolishes the existing electoral wards of the borough of Rotherham and replaces them with 25 new ones. It establishes the names and areas of the new electoral wards and the number of councillors for each.

Article 4 makes changes to parish wards which are consequential to the changes made by article 3.

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made).

The area covered by each ward created by this Order is identified on a map which is available for inspection at reasonable times at the offices of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England, 14th floor, Millbank Tower, London SW1P 4QP. The map may also be accessed at https://www.lgbce.org.uk/current-reviews/yorkshire-and-the-humber/south-yorkshire/rotherham

An impact assessment has not been produced for this instrument as no impact on the private or voluntary sectors is foreseen.