STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2018 No. 1372

LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND

The Bournemouth, Christchurch and Poole (Electoral Changes) Order 2018

Made - - - 17th December 2018 Coming into force in accordance with article 1(2) and (3)

Under section 58(4) of the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009(1) ("the Act") the Local Government Boundary Commission for England(2) ("the Commission") published a report dated October 2018 stating its recommendations for changes to the electoral arrangements for Bournemouth, Christchurch and Poole(3). The Commission has decided to give effect to the recommendations.

A draft of the instrument has been laid before Parliament and a period of forty days has expired since the day on which it was laid and neither House has resolved that the instrument be not made.

The Commission makes the following Order in exercise of the power conferred by section 59(1) of the Act.

Citation and commencement

1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the Bournemouth, Christchurch and Poole (Electoral Changes) Order 2018.

(2) This article and article 2 come into force on the day after the day on which this Order is made.

⁽**1**) 2009 c. 20.

⁽²⁾ The Local Government Boundary Commission for England was established on 1st April 2010 by section 55(1) of the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009.

⁽³⁾ See S.I. 2018/648 which abolishes the borough and county of Bournemouth, the borough and county of Poole and the district of Christchurch and non-metropolitan county of Dorset (of which Christchurch is a part until April 2019). On the same day, article 3 of that instrument establishes Bournemouth, Christchurch and Poole as both a new non-metropolitan county and a new non-metropolitan district. The sole principal authority for the non-metropolitan district of Bournemouth, Christchurch and Poole is to be Bournemouth, Christchurch and Poole Council. Article 24 of that instrument also makes provision in respect of elections to that Council, in particular by specifying the number of wards which is to comprise Bournemouth, Christchurch and Poole and the number of councillors to be elected for each of those wards. Section 60(1) of the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009 (c. 20) provided for the transfer of functions under Part 1 (Structural and Boundary Change in England) of the Local Government and Public Involvement in Health Act 2007 (c. 28) ("the 2007 Act") to the Local Government Boundary Commission for England. The Local Government Boundary Commission for England is obliged, by virtue of section 12(5) of the 2007 Act, to consider whether to exercise its power to conduct a review under section 56(2) of the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009 Act (under which power, amongst others, S.1. 2018/648 was made). This Order gives effect to the recommendations arising from that review.

- (3) Article 3 comes into force—
 - (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary or relating to the election of councillors, on the day after the day on which this Order is made;
 - (b) for all other purposes, on the ordinary day of election of councillors(4) in 2019.

Interpretation

2.—(1) In this Order, "the map" means the map marked "Map referred to in the Bournemouth, Christchurch and Poole (Electoral Changes) Order 2018", held by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England(**5**).

(2) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, watercourse or similar geographical feature, it is to be treated as running along the centre line of the feature.

Wards of the district of Bournemouth, Christchurch and Poole and number of councillors

3.—(1) The existing wards of the district of Bournemouth, Christchurch and Poole are abolished.

(2) The district of Bournemouth, Christchurch and Poole is divided into 33 wards as listed in the first column of the table in the Schedule.

(3) Each ward comprises the area identified on the map by reference to the name of the ward.

(4) The number of councillors to be elected for each ward is the number specified in relation to that ward in the second column of the table in the Schedule.

Sealed with the seal of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England



Jolyon Jackson Chief Executive Local Government Boundary Commission for England

17th December 2018

⁽⁴⁾ The ordinary day of election of councillors in England is prescribed by section 37 of the Representation of the People Act 1983 (c. 2), as amended by section 18(2) of the Representation of the People Act 1985 (c. 50) and section 6(16) of the Wales Act 2017 (c. 4).

⁽⁵⁾ Prints of the map are available for inspection at reasonable times at the principal office of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England, 1st Floor, Windsor House, 50 Victoria Street, London, SW1H 0TL. It is also accessible online at http://www.lgbce.org.uk/all-reviews/south-west/dorset/bournemouth-christchurch-and-poole

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

SCHEDULE

Article 3

Names of wards and number of councillors

(1)	(2)
Name of district ward	Number of councillors
Alderney & Bourne Valley	3
Bearwood & Merley	3
Boscombe East & Pokesdown	2
Boscombe West	2
Bournemouth Central	2
Broadstone	2
Burton & Grange	2
Canford Cliffs	2
Canford Heath	3
Christchurch Town	2
Commons	2
Creekmoor	2
East Cliff & Springbourne	3
East Southbourne & Tuckton	2
Hamworthy	3
Highcliffe & Walkford	2
Kinson	3
Littledown & Iford	2
Moordown	2
Mudeford, Stanpit & West Highcliffe	2
Muscliff & Strouden Park	3
Newtown & Heatherlands	3
Oakdale	2
Parkstone	2
Penn Hill	2
Poole Town	3
Queen's Park	2
Redhill & Northbourne	2
Talbot & Branksome Woods	3
Wallisdown & Winton West	2
West Southbourne	2

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

(1)	(2)	
Name of district ward	Number of councillors	
Westbourne & West Cliff	2	
Winton East	2	

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order makes changes to electoral arrangements for Bournemouth, Christchurch and Poole following recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England. Bournemouth, Christchurch and Poole is established as a unitary authority, with effect from 1st April 2019, by virtue of the Bournemouth, Dorset and Poole (Structural Changes) Order 2018 (S.I. 2018/648). The changes made by this Order apply in respect of local government elections held on and after the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2019.

Article 3 provides for the creation of 33 new electoral wards and establishes the names and areas of those wards and the number of councillors for each.

The area covered by each ward created by this Order is identified on a map which is available for inspection at reasonable times at the offices of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England, 1st Floor, Windsor House, 50 Victoria Street, London, SW1H 0TL.

The map may also be accessed at http://www.lgbce.org.uk/all-reviews/south-west/dorset/bournemouth-christchurch-and-poole

An impact assessment has not been produced for this instrument as no impact on the private or voluntary sectors is foreseen.