STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2018 No. 1177

The Redcar and Cleveland (Electoral Changes) Order 2018

Citation and commencement

1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the Redcar and Cleveland (Electoral Changes) Order 2018.

- (2) This article and article 2 come into force on the day after the day on which this Order is made.
- (3) Articles 3 and 4 come into force—
 - (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary or relating to the election of councillors, on the day after the day on which this Order is made;
 - (b) for all other purposes, on the ordinary day of election of councillors(1) in 2019.

Interpretation

2.—(1) In this Order, any reference to "the map" means the map held by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England(**2**) which is marked "Map referred to in the Redcar and Cleveland (Electoral Changes) Order 2018".

(2) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, watercourse or similar geographical feature, it is to be treated as running along the centre line of the feature.

Wards of the borough of Redcar and Cleveland and number of councillors

3.—(1) The existing wards of the borough of Redcar and Cleveland are abolished.

(2) The borough of Redcar and Cleveland is divided into 24 wards as listed in the first column of the table in Schedule 1.

(3) Each ward comprises the area identified on the map by reference to the name of the ward.

(4) The number of councillors to be elected for each ward is the number specified in relation to that ward in the second column of the table in Schedule 1.

Wards of the parishes of Guisborough, Saltburn, Marske & New Marske, and Skelton & Brotton

4.—(1) The existing wards of the parishes of Guisborough, Saltburn, Marske & New Marske, and Skelton & Brotton are abolished.

(2) The parish of Guisborough is divided into the three parish wards listed in the first column of table 1 in Schedule 2.

⁽¹⁾ The ordinary day of election of councillors in England is prescribed by section 37(1) of the Representation of the People Act 1983 (c. 2), as amended by section 18(2) of the Representation of the People Act 1985 (c. 50) and section 6(16) of the Wales Act 2017 (c. 4).

⁽²⁾ Printed copies of the map are available for inspection at reasonable times at the principle office of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England, 1st floor, Windsor House, Victoria Street, London, SW1H 0TL. The map may also be accessed online at http://www.lgbce.org.uk/all-reviews/north-east/redcar-cleveland/redcar-and-cleveland

(3) The parish of Saltburn, Marske & New Marske is divided into the four parish wards listed in the first column of table 2 in Schedule 2.

(4) The parish of Skelton & Brotton is divided into the seven parish wards listed in the first column of table 3 in Schedule 2.

(5) Each parish ward comprises the area identified on the map by reference to the name of the parish ward.

(6) The number of councillors to be elected for each parish ward is the number specified in the second column of the relevant table in Schedule 2.

Sealed with the seal of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England



Jolyon Jackson Chief Executive Local Government Boundary Commission for England

13th November 2018