STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2017 No. 1270

The Blackburn with Darwen (Electoral Changes) Order 2017

Citation and commencement

- 1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the Blackburn with Darwen (Electoral Changes) Order 2017.
- (2) This article and article 2 come into force on the day after the day on which this Order is made.
- (3) Articles 3 and 4 come into force—
 - (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary, or relating, to the election of councillors, on the day after the day on which it is made;
 - (b) for all other purposes, on the ordinary day of election of councillors in England and Wales(1) in 2018.
- (4) Articles 5 and the Schedule come into force—
 - (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary, or relating to, the election of councillors, on the day after the day on which it is made;
 - (b) for all other purposes, on the ordinary day of election of councillors in England and Wales in 2020.

Interpretation

- **2.**—(1) In this Order "the map" means the map marked "Map referred to in the Blackburn with Darwen (Electoral Changes) Order 2017", held by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England(2).
- (2) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, watercourse or similar geographical feature, it is to be treated as running along the centre line of the feature.

Wards of the borough of Blackburn with Darwen

- **3.**—(1) The existing wards of the borough of Blackburn with Darwen are abolished.
- (2) The borough of Blackburn with Darwen is divided into 17 wards as follows—
 - (a) Audley & Queen's Park;
 - (b) Bastwell & Daisyfield;
 - (c) Billinge & Beardwood;
 - (d) Blackburn Central;
 - (e) Blackburn South & Lower Darwen;
 - (f) Blackburn South East;

⁽¹⁾ The ordinary day of election of councillors is prescribed by section 37(1) of the Representation of the People Act 1983 (c.2) as amended by section 18(2) of the Representation of the People Act 1985 (c.50).

⁽²⁾ Prints of the map are available for inspection at reasonable times at the principal office of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England, 14th floor, Millbank Tower, London SW1P 4QP. It is also accessible online at https://www.lgbce.org.uk/current-reviews/north-west/lancashire/blackburn-and-darwen

- (g) Darwen East;
- (h) Darwen South;
- (i) Darwen West;
- (j) Ewood;
- (k) Little Harwood & Whitebirk;
- (l) Livesey with Pleasington;
- (m) Mill Hill & Moorgate;
- (n) Roe Lee;
- (o) Shear Brow & Corporation Park;
- (p) Wensley Fold;
- (q) West Pennine.
- (3) Each ward comprises the area identified on the map by reference to the name of the ward.
- (4) Three councillors are to be elected for each ward.

Elections of the borough of Blackburn with Darwen

- **4.**—(1) Elections of all councillors for each ward of the borough of Blackburn with Darwen are to be held simultaneously on the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2018.
- (2) The councillors holding office for any ward abolished by article 3(1) immediately before the fourth day after the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2018 are to retire on that fourth day and the newly elected councillors are to come into office on that fourth day.
- (3) Of the councillors elected for a ward in 2018, one is to retire on the fourth day after the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2019, one on the fourth day after the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2020 and one on the fourth day after the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2022.
 - (4) Of the councillors elected in 2018—
 - (a) the first to retire is to be the councillor elected by the smallest number of votes; and
 - (b) the second to retire is to be the councillor elected by the next smallest number of votes.
- (5) In the case of an equality of votes between any persons elected which makes it uncertain which of them is to retire in any year, the person to retire in that year is to be determined by lot.
- (6) If an election of councillors for any ward is not contested, the person to retire in each year is to be determined by lot.
- (7) An election to replace a councillor who retires under paragraph (3) is to be held on the ordinary day of election of councillors in the year in which the retirement is due to take place; and the newly elected councillors are to come into office on the fourth day after that day.
- (8) Where under this article any question is to be determined by lot, the lot is to be drawn at the next practicable meeting of the council after the question has arisen and the drawing is to be conducted under the direction of the person presiding at the meeting.

Wards of the parish of Darwen Town

- **5.**—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Darwen Town are abolished.
- (2) The parish of Darwen Town is divided into the four parish wards listed in the first column of the table in the Schedule.
- (3) The number of councillors to be elected for each parish ward is the number specified in relation to that ward in the second column of the table in the Schedule.

Sealed with the seal of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England



13th December 2017

Jolyon Jackson Chief Executive Local Government Boundary Commission for England