2017 No. 119

LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND

The Cherwell (Electoral Changes) Order 2017

Made - - - 7*th February* 2017

Coming into force in accordance with article 1(2)

Under section 92(2) of the Local Government and Public Involvement in Health Act 2007(**a**) ("the Act") Cherwell District Council ("the Council") made recommendations to the Local Government Boundary Commission for England(**b**) for the related alteration of the boundaries of county electoral divisions within the Council's area.

The Local Government Boundary Commission for England has decided to give effect to the recommendations and, in exercise of the power conferred by section 92(3) of the Act, makes the following Order:

Citation and commencement

1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the Cherwell (Electoral Changes) Order 2017.

(2) This Order comes into force—

- (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary or relating to the election of councillors, on the day after the day on which it is made;
- (b) for all other purposes, on the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2017.

Interpretation

2. In this Order—

"the 2014 Order" means the Cherwell District Council (Reorganisation of Community Governance) Order 2014(c);

"county electoral division" means an electoral division established by article 4 of the Oxfordshire (Electoral Changes) Order 2012(d);

⁽a) 2007 c.28; section 92 has been amended by section 67(1) of, and paragraphs 11 and 32 of Schedule 4 to, the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009 (c.20) ("the 2009 Act").

⁽b) The Local Government Boundary Commission for England was established by section 55(1) of the 2009 Act. The functions of the Electoral Commission under Chapter 3 of Part 4 of the Local Government and Public Involvement in Health Act 2007 (c.28) ("the 2007 Act") were transferred to the Local Government Boundary Commission for England with effect from 1st April 2010 by section 60 of the 2009 Act.

⁽c) The Cherwell District Council (Reorganisation of Community Governance) Order 2014 was made by Cherwell District Council in exercise of powers under Part 4 of the 2007 Act. Orders of this kind are not required to be made by statutory instrument.

⁽d) S.I. 2012/1812.

"ordinary day of election of councillors" has the meaning given by section 37 of the Representation of the People Act $1983(\mathbf{a})$.

Related alterations of county electoral division boundaries

3.—(1) Each area that ceases to be part of the parish of Blackthorn and becomes part of the parish of Ambrosden in consequence of the 2014 Order ceases to be part of Ploughley county electoral division and becomes part of Otmoor county electoral division.

(2) Each area that ceases to be part of the parish of Hanwell and becomes part of the parish of Banbury in consequence of the 2014 Order ceases to be part of Wroxton & Hook Norton county electoral division and becomes part of Banbury Hardwick county electoral division.

(3) Each area that ceases to be part of the parish of Bodicote and becomes part of the parish of Banbury in consequence of the 2014 Order ceases to be part of Deddington county electoral division and becomes part of Bloxham & Easington county electoral division.

(4) Each area that ceases to be part of the parish of Bucknell and becomes part of the parish of Bicester in consequence of the 2014 Order ceases to be part of Bicester West county electoral division and becomes part of Bicester North county electoral division.

(5) Each area that ceases to be part of the parish of Drayton and becomes part of Banbury Hardwick parish ward in the parish of Banbury in consequence of the 2014 Order ceases to be part of Wroxton & Hook Norton county electoral division and becomes part of Banbury Hardwick county electoral division.

(6) Each area that ceases to be part of the parish of Drayton and becomes part of Banbury Ruscote parish ward in the parish of Banbury in consequence of the 2014 Order ceases to be part of Wroxton & Hook Norton county electoral division and becomes part of Banbury Ruscote county electoral division.

Sealed with the seal of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England



7th February 2017

Jolyon Jackson Chief Executive Local Government Boundary Commission for England

⁽a) 1983 c.2; section 37 has been amended by section 18(2) of the Representation of the People Act 1985 (c.50), paragraph 5 of Schedule 3 to the Greater London Authority Act 1999 (c.29) and section 60(1) of the Local Government and Public Involvement in Health Act 2007 (c.28).

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order gives effect to recommendations made by Cherwell District Council to the Local Government Boundary Commission for England for related alterations of county electoral division boundaries. These alterations are related to parish boundary changes made by the Cherwell District Council (Reorganisation of Community Governance) Order 2014.

The new county electoral division boundaries apply in respect of elections to be held on and after the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2017.

Article 3 alters the county electoral divisions of (i) Ploughley, (ii) Otmoor (iii) Wroxton & Hook Norton, (iv) Banbury Hardwick, (v) Banbury Ruscote, (vi) Deddington, (vii) Bloxham & Easington, (viii) Bicester West and (ix) Bicester North.

An impact assessment has not been produced for this instrument as no impact on the private or voluntary sectors is foreseen.

[©] Crown copyright 2017

Printed and published in the UK by The Stationery Office Limited under the authority and superintendence of Carol Tullo, Controller of Her Majesty's Stationery Office and Queen's Printer of Acts of Parliament.

http://www.legislation.gov.uk/id/uksi/2017/119

UK201702071000 02/2017 19585

£4.25

