STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

# 2016 No. 857

# LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND

The Kettering (Electoral Changes) Order 2016

Made--24th August 2016Coming into force in accordance with article 1(2)

Under section 92(2) of the Local Government and Public Involvement in Health Act 2007(1) Kettering Borough Council made recommendations to the Local Government Boundary Commission for England(2) for the related alteration of the boundaries of electoral divisions within that Council's area.

The Local Government Boundary Commission for England has decided to give effect to the recommendations and, in exercise of the power conferred by section 92(3) of the Act, makes the following Order:

#### Citation and commencement

1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the Kettering (Electoral Changes) Order 2016.

- (2) This Order comes into force—
  - (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary or relating to the election of councillors, on the day after it is made;
  - (b) for all other purposes, on the ordinary day of election of councillors(3) in 2017.

#### Interpretation

2. In this Order—

"the 2015 Order" means The Kettering Borough Council (Reorganisation of Community Governance) Order 2015(4);

"electoral division" means a division established by article 3 of The Northamptonshire (Electoral Changes) Order 2013(5).

 <sup>2007</sup> c.28. Section 92 was amended by the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009 (c.20) ("the 2009 Act"), Sch. 4 paras 11 and 32.

<sup>(2)</sup> The Local Government Boundary Commission for England was established on  $1^{st}$  April 2010 by section 55(1) of the 2009 Act.

<sup>(3)</sup> The ordinary day of election of councillors is prescribed by section 37 of the Representation of the People Act 1983 c.2.
(4) The Kettering Borough Council (Reorganisation of Community Governance) Order 2015 was made by Kettering Borough

Council under section 86(2) of the Local Government and Public Involvement in Health Act 2007 (c.28). Orders of this kind are not required to be made by statutory instrument.

<sup>(5)</sup> S.I. 2013/68.

### Related alterations electoral division boundaries

**3.** The area that ceases to be part of the parish of Wilbarston and becomes part of the parish of Rushton in consequence of the 2015 Order ceases to be part of Desborough electoral division and becomes part of Rothwell and Mawsley electoral division.

Sealed with the seal of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England



Jolyon Jackson Chief Executive Local Government Boundary Commission for England

24th August 2016

### **EXPLANATORY NOTE**

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order gives effect to recommendations made by Kettering Borough Council to the Local Government Boundary Commission for England for related alterations of electoral division boundaries. These alterations are related to parish boundary changes made by the Kettering Borough Council (Reorganisation of Community Governance) Order 2015.

The new electoral division boundaries apply in respect of elections to be held on and after the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2017.

Article 3 alters the electoral divisions of (i) Desborough and (ii) Rothwell and Mawsley.

An impact assessment has not been produced for this instrument as no impact on the private or voluntary sectors is foreseen.