STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2016 No. 1229

The Lewes (Electoral Changes) Order 2016

Citation, commencement and interpretation

1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the Lewes (Electoral Changes) Order 2016.

- (2) This article comes into force on the day after the day on which this Order is made.
- (3) The remainder of this Order comes into force—
 - (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary, or relating, to the election of councillors, on 15th October 2018;
 - (b) for all other purposes, on the ordinary day of election of councillors in England and Wales in 2019.

(4) In this article "the ordinary day of election of councillors in England and Wales" has the meaning given by section 37(1) of the Representation of the People Act 1983(1).

(5) In this Order "the map" means the map marked "Map referred to in the Lewes (Electoral Changes) Order 2016", held by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England(2).

(6) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, watercourse or similar geographical feature, it is to be treated as running along the centre line of the feature.

Wards of the district of Lewes and number of councillors

2.—(1) The existing wards of the district of Lewes are abolished.

(2) The district of Lewes is divided into 21 wards as listed in the first column of the table in Schedule 1.

(3) Each ward comprises the area identified on the map by reference to the name of the ward.

(4) The number of councillors to be elected to each ward is the number specified by the entry in the second column of the table in Schedule 1 which relates to that ward.

Wards of the parishes of Lewes, Newhaven, Peacehaven and Seaford

3.—(1) The existing wards of the parishes of Lewes, Newhaven, Peacehaven and Seaford are abolished.

(2) Each of the parishes mentioned in paragraph 1 is divided into the parish wards listed in the entries in the second column of the table in Schedule 2 which relate to that parish.

(3) Each parish ward comprises the area identified on the map by reference to the name of the parish ward.

(4) The number of councillors to be elected to each parish ward is the number specified by the entry in the third column of the table in Schedule 2 which relates to that parish ward.

^{(1) 1983} c. 2; section 37(1) was amended by section 18(2) of the Representation of the People Act 1985 (c. 50).

⁽²⁾ Prints of the map are available for inspection at reasonable times at the principal office of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England, 14th floor, Millbank Tower, London SW1P 4QP. It is also accessible online at https:// www.lgbce.org.uk/current-reviews/south-east/east-sussex/lewes.

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

Sealed with the seal of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England



Jolyon Jackson Chief Executive Local Government Boundary Commission for England

15th December 2016